Skip to content

96.16

October 1, 2012

mileage for September

I actually feel pretty good about this number. The runs that make it up are another story. Pretty much all of September’s run sucked. There was entirely too much walking this month. I felt like I just could not get it together. I’ve been telling everyone in ear shot (seriously whether they want to hear it or not) that this race is not going to be pretty, but I’ll finish. Barely. I’ve logged the miles. I know I can finish it, but I still feel out of shape, so there won’t be any records broken. Well, maybe a record for my worst marathon time ever (which is saying something considering I’ve torn my calf during one and another one had me all the hills of San Francisco).

Maybe my Don’t Call it a Comeback tour was too lofty an aspiration. Going from 0-26 just 10 months post major surgery? Yeah, I probably should have had better base mileage before attempting another marathon. I feel like that’s the issue here, that I spent all of my time building miles and didn’t have the chance to work on quality (speed and hill training). So I’ll run the race. I’ll even call it a success if I can finish it, but I am just a little disappointed that I am not going to make a good show of it.

Despite all of that boo-hooing, I am still excited. I got my race shoes–the Nike Air Pegasus 29s (I didn’t have enough time to customize a pair) which originally seemed a little boring with the mostly gray coloring, but they’ve grown on me a bit and I think they’ll do just fine as a race day shoe. Stay tuned for the rest of my race day outfit….

We are now just 5 (FREAKING) days, 22 hours and 26 minutes out from Chicago!


[TODAY’S WORKOUT]

►4 miles of recovery <1 mile walk, 4 miles at 10:25 pace, 1 mile walk>

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 1, 2012 1:48 pm

    Good luck!! Running slumps happen you just gotta “run with it”.

Leave a Reply

