Skip to content

Battling the heat

July 29, 2012

The heat has been killing me as of late. See rants of the previous week for proof of the sucktitude it is inflicting on my runs if you feel like reading some whine (not that this post won’t be whiny, cuz it probably will…just keeping it real here).

I postponed my Saturday long run to Sunday this week for a few reasons. One I was still feeling sore from Thursday’s treadmill tempo run (treadmill because it was so freaking hot that night–an apparatus which I hate to the deepest depths of me entire being), two, I had a late conference call on Friday and wasn’t able to get my pre-run routine done in time to get some quality zzz’s, and three I had a special birthday cake to make for a rambunctious 3 year old’s Avengers birthday party and honestly didn’t think I’d be able to get it all done in time.

20120729-193946.jpg

So I saved it for Sunday, and due to an overnight sinus issue and the resulting intake of psuedoephedrine I was practically wide awake and totally wired when my alarm went off (does this happen to anyone else, decongestant does not make me sleepy but wires me up in a weird drugged out way — obviously I totally would not be able to take meth, you know if any meth dealers are reading this, don’t even try!). I pulled a 14-miler route off the DC Road Runners cue sheet site, one that would offer a good amount of shade and some nice, distracting trails (see the Glover-Archibold route that ends coming down Rock Creek Park), froze some Gatorade in my water bottles, wore my lightest running clothes and headed out the door.

The trail was harder than I felt it should have been…super hot…and once I cleared it at about mile 5.5 I figured out why — the breeze going on today was a big reason it wasn’t unbearable and under the cover of the tress, I got zero of that. It was so bad that I had drank up ALL of my Gatorade by mile 5 (usually I don’t take my first real sips until mile 4)! The beauty of it was that it was cold the whole way because I had frozen them solid (rather than partially frozen and then filled). Thankfully though, right at mile 5.5, when I cleared the trails, there was a McDonald’s where I snagged some ice water and Powerade for the remaining 8.5 miles. The rest of the run was pretty uneventful, I think I took a couple walk breaks on some uphills, but they were pretty small and nothing that made me feel defeated or anything. I think I averaged 11:15s for the entire run which is right about where I want to be on distance-building runs so, yay on me

20120808-231839.jpg

~The overgrown tracks were spotted on the Glover Archibold trail
~Dirty ankles=product of trail running
~Best part of the run=The extra half mile I ran to the Starbucks where I sat outside, enjoyed my iced caramel machiato and dried off my sweaty body in the breeze

Next week though, I gotta run with people — I can’t do these solo long runs by myself anymore!

[TODAY’S WORKOUT]
►14-mile long run <at 10K + 60-75 seconds pace>;

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 1:38 pm

    “Dirty ankles=product of trail running” I put off bathing when I have dirty trail running ankles. It’s like a badge of honor that makes me feel a bit more tough and rugged. Looking forward to getting back on the horse and joining you for some Spring time runs!

    • July 31, 2012 10:07 pm

      I knew we were cut from the same cloth…who else “saves” and/or photographs dirty ankles??!! Bad ass. I will meet you post knocked uppedness. If you ever stop getting pregnant 😉

  2. August 1, 2012 3:51 pm

    My last name is hyphenated with -Duggar. Didn’t you know that?

    You know what I also love? salt crystals formed post-run on my face. weird?

    • August 8, 2012 11:00 pm

      Haha!! Me too! After a salty run, I rub it into my skin and call it a spa treatment 🙂

Leave a Reply

