Skip to content

Workout Wear Wednesday

July 25, 2012

So I missed last week’s post, which would have been only the 2nd one in this here series. Apparently I fail at everything. I thought about doing a Thursday Threads post (yes, alliteration is important to me) to make up for it, but when that didn’t happen either I just gave up entirely. Welcome to my life, where expectations are never met…or met much later than expected.

Jumping in…

Last month, I bought new shorts for the first time in forever. Seriously, I think it had been maybe 2 or 3 years since I bought new running shorts. I know. It’s just that I hate shorts. For being a runner it’s probably odd that I hate my legs, but I do, so I avoid shorts at all costs. Actually now that I am a runner I hate them much, MUCH (much!!!!) less than I ever used to, but still they are not my favorite body part. So I wear workout pants as much as possible. But when things get hot, I don’t stay insecure for long and the shorts definitely come out. All this being said, it’s basically a big deal for me to buy shorts.

Cut to City Sports, who happen to have a great loyalty program, frequent coupons and some cash money hanging out on a gift card I won last year during the bootcamp that broke my hand. [I didn’t win money because I broke my hand, even though I joked at the time the $100 didn’t even cover my x-ray bill.] Right before the Zooma half marathon last month (which I STILL have not recapped, see above fail rant above), I ran over to the storefront closest to my office desperate for a new race outfit. Now usually I would not wear brand new clothes at a race, but all my shorts were smelly dirty and no way was I racing in those. Knowing that I hate shorts in general, I brought about 37 pairs into the dressing room with me, determined to find a pair that looked decent. And lo and behold, I came out with these:


20120725-131710.jpg</a
Nike Tempo Track Short

I swear I had tried this style on ages ago and they just made my legs look like tree trunks, but I liked them this time. I did go up a size (to large) because I wanted more room in the leg hole, so maybe this is the reason? They are awfully baggy on my backside and there is A LOT of room in the leg area in this bigger size, but I like how that makes them flare out a bit in the thigh and give the illusion of a leaner leg. It's probably all in my mind, but as long as I feel good about it, that's all that matters right? I bought these in navy and white for $32 (without discounts) and I love that now that I know I like them I can snag them up in all the funky color combos they come out in (when they go on sale of course).

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

