Skip to content

How to Fail at Running Without Even Trying

July 17, 2012

Operation Focus was a bust. I ran one speed workout, hit one cross training session and then kerplunked. To make excuses be fair, I did get sick. It was the kind of sick they say you can exercise through. You know when they say if your symptoms are from the neck up, “go ahead and workout!”! Well, those were my symptoms….but work out I did not. Run I did not. I did not actually do much of anything for that matter. For four days. Yes, I babied my sinus pressure and snottiness into four days of inactivity. What are you gonna do about it? I mean what are THEY gonna do about it (you know, THEY who say you should go ahead and workout when your head feels like ass)?

I can tell you what I did about it. I ran a make up long run last night, after work. [This is something I have done/do too often when I miss a shorter long run on the weekend–I just run the miles on Monday and pretend that I got them in the day before so the miles count towards the previous week.  I’m trying to get out of the habit. Obvs not doing a good job of it.] I should edit that. I walked and somewhat jogged a make up run after work. Holy sweat balls Batman! I am apparently NOT acclimated to the heat and humidity in any way, I am NOT conditioned for uber strenuous exercise and I have seemed to have lost all my lovely, cushiony callouses on the bottoms of my feet. [Did you know that can happen? That the gnarly pads strategically adhering to the hot spots on your feet will miraculously begin to disappear if you do not need them becauseyouskippedtwoweeksoflongruns for some reason or another? It’s crazy, the human body! It’s soooo evolved!]

So suctastic “run” last night. I am barely even sure I can count it as a 10 miler considering how much walking I did. Tell me I’ll get over this and be able to hit my long runs in some training-like fashion most soonest? I have deep woe for the status of my marathon training right now.

[TODAY’S “WORKOUT”]
10-mile long run <Supposed to be at 10K+60 seconds pace, but uh, notsomuch>

2 Comments leave one →
  1. July 18, 2012 8:27 am

    Being sick blowssss, feel better!

    • July 25, 2012 5:19 pm

      Thank you … it *almost* sucks even worse when it’s not a real sick but a head/congestion sick because then it doesn’t feel justified :/

Leave a Reply

