Skip to content

59.21

May 1, 2012

miles for April

3 months back in it, and 3 months with a nice little uptick in that cumulative number up there. See mileage for Feb and March here. Work has started in on me, and even though I have tried to remain upbeat and excited about all of my workouts, of course they have suffered. They have not suffered as much as I could have let them, but some yoga sessions (that I need so desperately to keep that hammy loose) and some cross-training (that is necessary to keep those supporting muscles strong) definitely bit the dust this month (and there wasn’t even any travel to blame it on). But, it could have been worse–there were some late night cross-training sessions that felt like a chore getting to, but ended up reminding me why I like being active. Those kind of sessions make me happy.

So while the month of May has plans to really stick it to me (two back-to-back trips, three conferences, the bestie’s graduation and various family obligations) I need a plan to stay on track even through the thick of it. I mean, this is my last full month of base building before marathon training will begin in earnest. [Insert freak out moment here!!!]  So I have the whole plan through early June written out, with mileage goals and contingencies for travel and exhaustion. These plans are always laid out in a flexible document, but having it in my face, in a tight, little grid format helps me stay on track.

Up this week are 17 miles, yoga and two cross-training sessions (I am trying to pack it in before things get craa-zee).

Next week I have travel for three days, but have figured out how to squeeze in almost 19 miles and some good stretching.

The week after that there are three more days of travel, and while I plan to top out at 20-something miles for the week, my cross training is really taking a hit. It’s the first thing to go when I go on the road. So I’ve just built in time for yoga, I figure that’s where my focus should be if something has to drop.

Fingers crossed it all goes according to (my pretty little) plan.

Guess what? Just 5 months, 7 days, 14 hours and 7 minutes to Chicago!


[TODAY’S WORKOUT]

►25 minutes of intervals on the elliptical
►30-min Nike Training Club workout <Get Lean/Intermediate/Slim Effect>

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Buggie permalink
    May 3, 2012 12:27 am

    You are gonna so proud of yourself after Chicago. Me too, by the way!! It won’t even have been a year, and there you will be maniacally pushing your body further than you drive in a month.

  2. Buggie permalink
    May 4, 2012 1:45 pm

    Oh, I still think you are a weirdo, but you are a weirdo I hold near and dear. 🙂 And if you love it, I love you loving it.

Leave a Reply

