Skip to content

Impromptu double race weekend

April 21, 2012

A double 5K weekend, is that anything like a double rainbow?

On Wednesday I decided that I would run my long run on Friday night by hitting the Pacers Crystal Run 5K Friday and then running home right afterward. Mainly because I wanted to try Shoe Lab at the race and it just so happened that my running partner couldn’t make it out for a run on  Saturday. Shoe Lab is this awesome thing Pacers started for the CR5K’s this year where you can race in a  “‘borrowed” shoe. Basically you get to try on a shoe for 3.1 miles. They have Newtons, Brooks and a third brand, Asics maybe, available. How cool is that? I didn’t get to try it though because I left work too late and by the time I got there they were all out of my size. Bummer. But I am going to try again next week, there is one  more CR5K left!

I ended up running a very difficult feeling 28:39. I mean, it felt haaaard. I couldn’t figure it out. Maybe because my pace was all over the place — I was at 8:45s, 9:59s, 9:15s — I just couldn’t find a rhythm.  Meh. The price you pay for deciding to run a race two days prior? It’s not like it was my slowest 5K ever. I was still averaging 9:15s, so I suppose I am pleased. Though more pleased with tacking on an extra 5.5 after the race. After catching my breath, and refilling my water (yes, I was the girl running a 5K with a water belt, lol) I took off through Arlington to head home. Even when I passed my street at 7.7ish miles, I decided to keep going and made an on-the-fly decision to run to Ballston Mall and pick up some dinner to reach my goal of 90 minutes or 9 miles. It worked. Ran from Crystal City to Noodles & Co, in 1:28:00 for a total of 8.6 miles. Ok, so I was a little short, but I had already run around the block once and I was tired!

Race number two is tomorrow, the GW Parkway Classic 5K, which I am running with Laura and her friend Holly. It’s Laura’s first race ever and I am so excited for her and so excited she is sharing the experience with me. I remember my first race ever, and running with the much-more-in-shape-than-I Clussy and loving every second of it. Well, every second except for Capitol Hill (which I walked) but Cluss was the best motivator getting me up it and keeping my walk break short.

Spotted on my run post-race

Yay for racing!


[TODAY’S WORKOUT]

►It’s a rest day beeyotch

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Buggie permalink
    April 22, 2012 11:41 am

    This post actually makes me excited about running. Now that is like a double rainbow!!!

    • April 23, 2012 12:51 pm

      So with the promise of double rainbows and strategically dropped money we can get you out there in running shoes? So we move to Ireland and cash in a bond or two for small change? Done!

  2. April 23, 2012 12:38 pm

    “I was still averaging 9:15s, so I suppose I am pleased.” What I would give to get down to even a 9:45 mile. man! So happy for you. You’ve found the peace in you in running and fitness and it’s so inspiring (just look at how you’ve motivated Laura!). Your happiness and peace makes me happy. I love reading about it and especially being around it, which entails seeing your face soon. I’m going to send you a note to see your face. Si?
    Te quiero muchissississimooo, Bebe Platano!!!

    • April 23, 2012 12:54 pm

      Te quiero tambien mamcita!! Look at us making a train and love circle of inspiration and motivation! You to me to Laura to her mom to back to you to back to me and around again. Let’s all put on animal costumes and lay on the living room floor together! No? Not where this was going? Oh. Ok. What about a modified Brussels sprouts date that includes a workout DVD instead of track? Laura and I were talking about that the other day. You in?

      • April 23, 2012 12:58 pm

        “Let’s all put on animal costumes and lay on the living room floor together!” ((snicker)) Fetish… Yep, I’m in. Totally in. Let’s look at calendars. I’m pretty open except for mid-Mayo.

        Oh and I’ll need you two ladies to help me find my running ju-ju again after mini-Cowboy makes his debut.

Leave a Reply

