Skip to content

Don’t call it a comeback…ok, you can if you want to, cuz it really sort of is

February 20, 2012

Double meaning, that title up there. Coming back to blogging, coming back to marathon training. Yeah, I said it. Gonna start this shit up again, on both those fronts.

After a couple of years of fighting some fierce malaise and progressive uncomfortableness, it was found that most of (if not all of) the physical symptoms I’d been experiencing could be traced to one, massive, benign fibroid tumor growing in my uterus. Massive, like over 5 lbs massive. Massive, like nearly 10″ in diameter massive. Massive in that its measurements had to be relayed in these formats rather than metrically as per the norm. Massive, like I was in my last trimester of pregnancy massive. And I had no idea. No idea that there was a foreign object taking up all of my insides and growing to such proportions that it started to die because it could no longer sustain itself. No idea until it decided to get real on a girl and act like a blot clot and cause some seriously scary symptoms while I was on travel to Chicago.

Chicago, where I ended up at Northwestern University Hospital not once, but twice after I was scheduled to fly home. Chicago, my favoritest city on the planet. Chicago, where the Bank of America Chicago Marathon is run each October.

It was too perfect. I found out about the existence of Chet (the douchebaggiest nickname we could think of to call the massive douchebag of a tumor) just days after I had witnessed the finish of the 2011 Chicago Marathon. What better place to be the site of where a rededication to marathon training culminates? What better place to say I am fully recovered from major abdominal surgery and scream to the world, to myself, that I AM ALL BETTER!?

Too perfect.

I am in.

26.2 miles by October 7 or bust.

And you’re with me whether you wanna be or not.

[TODAY’S WORKOUT]
Skip Day

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Buggie permalink
    February 21, 2012 10:30 am

    I’m with ya. You can do it. You rule!

    • February 21, 2012 11:44 pm

      Thanks preshus. It’s a weird combination of stupid confidence and fear I feel right now!

  2. February 21, 2012 11:33 am

    Hurrah! I’m so excited to see the rush of the Mish Mash energy jumping back out at me again! I love it! I will ride your energy coat tails, sans the marathon training. Boo yeah!

Leave a Reply

