Skip to content

26 + 99.5 = 47/42

April 1, 2010

How’s that math work you say?

Well, 26 P90X workouts + 99.5 miles run around the streets of DC, Arlington and Boca Raton = 47 workouts in 42 days.  In the forty-three says since I started P90X I have hit 14 two-a-days, shit that’s crazy even for me! I feel good though, strong and tight and sore in all the right places. Plus I totally nailed Chaturanga this week! I mean I have never been able to hover like that, ever…EVER!

To be honest though, I would like to be seeing a bit more muscle definition by now.  I suppose my slow progress on that front could be attributed to my travel schedule (poor sleeping and eating habits) not to mention my drinking needs.  I just won’t ever be able to give up booze for the prospect of fitness — sure I can curb it and drop happy hours here and there depending on what’s on the workout schedule, but give it up entirely? Blasphemous.

So not only in yoga, but the strength training is really making an impact on my running. I breeze up hills now, I have trouble keeping a slow pace on easy runs and just generally feel “springier”.  It’s awesome. I had a 10-mile training run last Saturday and damn I wish my watch was working!  It felt amazing, and using what the clock said when I left I am guessing it clocked in somewhere around 1:35 or so…which would be faster than any 10-mile race I’ve ever run. Makes me excited for next weekend’s Cherry Blossom 10-miler, fingers crossed I can keep it up and hit a good race.

One Comment leave one →
  1. April 2, 2010 12:19 pm

    Glad to see that you are feeling the affects of the work that you are putting in! I hope the CB 10 goes as well as your training run did!

Leave a Reply

