Skip to content

Third time’s a charm

May 18, 2009

I think last I spoke about this, it was March and I was hell bent on buying a stove.  Well I did buy a stove that weekend in March…but it took nearly 12 weeks and two botched delivery attempts before it actually appeared in my kitchen.  But now I can finally say, I have a completely working kitchen…just 15 months after I began my kitchen renovation. Slow and steady wins the race?

Basically this is what happened:
~ Sears sales person #1 = idiot and sends my order through a distribution center that does not deliver to Arlington.
~ Distribution center #1 = asshole and cancels said order from the system completely.
~ Sears system = jacked because the above move means there is now no record that I actually paid nearly $1,000 for a major kitchen appliance.
~ I spend 4 hours on the phone with Sears. Joy.
~ Sears sales person #2 = nice, but inappropriate. He asks me out. I don’t think I sound that cute on the phone. I question whether I should really be spending this kind of money with a group of idiots.
~ Sears sales person #2 knocks the price down over $200. I am no longer seething.
~ Must wait six more weeks for the next available delivery date.
~ Wait patiently. Finally get the delivery confirmation call the day before delivery.
~ Installer #1 shows up! Joy! Real joy this time!
~ But then I see he has brought the wrong stove.
~ Joy dissipates.
~ Installer #1 argues that this is the stove! His papers match for gosh sakes!
~ Politely (no, really) explain papers don’t mean jack and that he doesn’t have my stove so he should probably just be on his way.
~ Installer #1 leaves. Blames fault on Distribution Center #2. I tend to agree.
~ I place a phone call to Sears to tell them about the black stove that showed up instead of the stainless one. They try to tell me that stainless steel appliances are a mix of black and steel. I politely (not really) inform them I am not an idiot.
~ Sears promises to call me back.
~ They don’t.
~ I get mad.
~ Sears manager = jerk and I am forced to call back the store several times over the course of a week to get an answer.
~ They try to give me $50 to appease me.
~ This does not work.
~ Many phone calls later, they add another $90 off to their offer.
~ I accept it with the promise of a delivery within the next two weeks. It’s been 10 weeks now since my initial purchase.
~ Installer #2 calls to confirm installation. I confirm but an off-hand question about the delivery leads me to realize that they are not actually bringing the stove, but rather just coming to install one that has already been delivered.
~ This is a problem seeing as how I do not currently have a stove waiting to be installed. Installer #2 places a call to Distribution Center #3 to see if they can work something out.
~ Installer #2 = awesome and Sears is still sucking.
~ The next day, Installer #2 shows up with my stove and all the appropriate hoses and valves. I almost cannot believe it.
~ But thar she is…

My love

My love

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2009 1:40 pm

    Great, now what are you baking me?

  2. May 19, 2009 6:40 am

    Sears customer service guy = Marci’s new boyfriend;-) Glad it finally worked out!!!

  3. May 19, 2009 5:24 pm

    Glad to hear that you finally got your kitchen all finished!!

  4. May 20, 2009 9:46 pm

    66 – I will bake almost what ever is requested of me. So far the oven has produced lemon bars and granola peanut butter dream bars. Can decide if cookies or cheesecake should be next.

    Law-chick – I need to tell you what happened this week.

    Tyler – Don’t be fooled. The kitchen is not done. It’s just now working.

  5. SearsCares permalink
    June 3, 2009 6:17 pm

    To Marci:

    My name is Brian and I am part of the Sears Cares escalations team. I am extremely troubled by what I have read on your post here. Please accept my apologies on behalf of all of us at Sears that you encountered even one of the many situations listed here. I assure you that none of this is acceptable to us. I certainly do hope that everything is finally worked out and you are happy with your new range. However, if you have some free time, I would like to talk with you about what happened. It is our role to address issues such as these to make sure that in the future these things do not happen to other current or potential Sears’ customers and so we would like to get some more specific information about this if that would be acceptable. You can send me an email to searscares@searshc.com and we will look into this. Again I am very sorry you had this experience and I would like the opportunity to make sure this does not happen in the future to you or anyone else. I do look forward to talking to you soon.

    Thank you,

    Brian J.
    Senior Case Manager
    Sears Cares

Leave a Reply

