Skip to content

Change is here

January 19, 2009

Yup. Change is here in the form of millions of tourists converging on the nation’s capitol, for that is certainly a change from our normal, run-of-the-mill winter weekend here. The gossip sites, Twitter, the news, the talk shows all have eyes for D.C.  It’s exciting and…it’s making me sick. I don’t know what it is about me that makes me turn away anytime mobs of people get excited about something, it’s like they leech the excitement right out of me to use for themselves.

I am excited for the Inauguration. I can easily say it’s the only one I’ve ever looked forward to or just plum had feelings about in any sort of  way.  But the thought of sitting in traffic, stuffing hand warmers in my gloves and trying to find comfort, warmth and hope in the midst of thousands upon thousands of people makes me cringe–I mean it’s not quite vomit-worthy, I can still see how it might be fun, sort of.  But I have enough of a hard time dealing with Metro’s ineptitude’s on the average Wednesday’s rush hour I can’t imagine how hard I would come unglued on a day like tomorrow.

It’s not just about my pessimism. At least I think it’s not. It’s the hype. I can’t stand hype. Hype generally makes me hate and I don’t want to hate this, it’s too monumentally amazing to even approach bearing ill-willed feelings towards it.  So I will (as I have all weekend — that is no taking advantage of star-studded night clubs, extended boozing hours, free concerts) refrain from partaking. I have read the articles on DCist, WaPo, ET, pic.2009 amongst others, I have watched more news than I care to admit, and I have enjoyed witnessing it from afar. I do have reservations about not taking advantage of my proximity to it all and not witnessing history live, but my fear of clouding it with stress and anger will keep my on my sofa, clad in pjs, eating cereal and peanut butter sandwiches.  I will be content to just live it.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Bug permalink
    January 20, 2009 3:46 am

    No, don’t eat peanut butter. It is currently poisonous

  2. February 28, 2009 1:29 pm

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

