Skip to content

The first casualty

January 14, 2009

Contrary to what may be popular belief I have not given up finishing the kitchen.  Also contrary to what some may think, it’s still not finished either.  I am kind of in a renovation limbo (more on that later).  Last I left you, we had ripped up the old floors. If you’ve forgotten, and I mean who could blame you it was August after all, you can refresh your memory here, under MKR: Project Grossness.

While nothing has budged on the kitchen since (well, we did finish the floors…sooo pretty! I love them and caress them everyday. Seriously.) I did have my first casualty recently.  Deaths are to be expected when one takes their once semi-soft linoleum floors and turns them into hard-ass floors of steel.  And when something as innocuous as a pan lid takes a header off the stove and makes a beeline for those tiled floors, someone’s going to get hurt. It could be the floors–tile, it cracks!  It could be me, wrenching my back to save the falling lid! Or it could be the lid, crashing spectacularly as it hits the floor–especially if said lid is made of glass.

I give you Exhibit A.

Crash

Crash

And Exhibit B.

Thats a hundred million peices, yo

Thats a hundred million peices, yo

I think it’s clear who the winner is.

Kitchen Floor: 1
Cookware: 0

(But hey, check out the pretty floor! So nice, so lovely, no?)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Harms permalink
    January 14, 2009 4:36 pm

    OHHHHHHHHH NO!!!!!! Buy an oven already!!!! you know so I can come over and you can bake me sumtin

  2. Bug permalink
    January 14, 2009 5:06 pm

    Maybe the knob and the lid where at odds and the floor was helping the knob get out of an unhealthy relationship? Good friend, the floor. Good for the knob. Get away from that lid, always exposing you to such a heated situation.

  3. February 28, 2009 1:25 pm

    I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!

Leave a Reply

