Skip to content

Delusions of Restitution

November 18, 2008

As I am sitting here on my blue sofa, wrapped up in my blue blanket (the warmest one I have), in my blue polka dot pajamas, sipping a french pressed gingerbread coffee, listening to the cold wind howl outside, I am pondering my laziness.  I know it sounds all glorious and Martha Stewart, actually it doesn’t sound Martha Stewart at all considering that I am not decoupaging anything, which I guess is my point. It’s Tuesday. It’s Tuesday at 12:48PM and I’ve been here, in basically this same state, for the past three days — with just small, infrequent gaps to move to the bedroom and the kitchen.

I’ve been home for four days, home for four days  without even a drop of work needing my immediate attention and outside of spending some time with the girls to celebrate CeCe’s birthday I have done absolutely nothing.  True, I did have some good old fashioned relaxation in mind when I took Monday and Tuesday off…it’s been a bear of a season, one that’s kept me in the office past 10pm at nights, on travel over the weekends, and under an extreme amount of stress.  So relaxation is exactly what I had in mind.  However, I also had in mind the kind of things you do to keep your life in order, you know, when you have a normal life.  That deep cleaning you give your abode every once in a while.  Renewal of one’s long-expired driver’s license.  Paring down of the closet and heading to the nearest Good Will. Getting a nice run in or even heading to yoga for a change. Grocery shopping and preparing real meals, not just snacks.  Replacement of a newly flat tire.  Doing the laundry.

With just 12 hours left of my destress-a-thon, I have not done any of the above except for the part about laying around on the sofa drinking coffee. So I wonder, is recouping just another word for laziness?

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Bug permalink
    November 18, 2008 4:04 pm

    If so, then I have been recouping for 2 months!

  2. November 18, 2008 4:44 pm

    Recuperation and laziness are not one in the same. One can recuperate by being lazy, but one cannot just be lazy and call it recuperation unless they are actually recuperating from something.

    All of this doesn’t take into account that there’s nothing wrong with being lazy.

  3. November 18, 2008 5:32 pm

    Once in a while doing nothing is really good. *Really* good.

  4. November 18, 2008 10:16 pm

    So needed laziness is the consensus? Phew.

    And Bug, you are directifying (like that?) which requires more introspection and thought than say, leaving the house to go pay $20 and renew your driver’s license.

  5. November 18, 2008 11:44 pm

    Slowing down for a brief window is always a good idea, and I don’t think folks do it enough. I salute you!

    Uh, where are you?

    Oh, I see. Way down there. On the couch.

    I’ll just be taking these here cupcakes and heading out…

  6. Bug permalink
    November 19, 2008 12:55 pm

    She can’t make cupcakes because she ain’t got no oven. That’s probably why all the hanging out on sofa not doing anything. Wow, that was an immense lack of grammar usage.

    Love you Marci! You are my very best friend.

  7. November 19, 2008 3:17 pm

    Good for you!!!!!! Not only do you need it, you really deserve it!!!! or deserved it, it is over now…the rest and relaxation???

    can’t wait to see you!!!!!!! :)* kisses

  8. November 19, 2008 10:29 pm

    Hammer – She is right. Although hopefully not for long. I think there might be an oven in my future.

    Harms – Yes, it’s over. But I can’t wait for coffee this weekend! Yay.

  9. November 19, 2008 11:24 pm

    No oven?

    You?!

    That’s straight-up crazy talk, I tell you whut.

  10. November 20, 2008 10:10 am

    Dude, how is it possible to sound southern over teh internets?

Leave a Reply

