Skip to content

diversions

October 13, 2008

After a very rough Friday (one could argue it’s been rough for longer than just this past Friday, but Friday was ugly), I spent the weekend ignoring the phone, sleeping too much and holed up on the sofa in my pj’s and some very unwashed hair.  Emerging from myself, I hit a 10-mile run this morning, saw my dentist and went in for an abbreviated day at work.  Things were looking good. But work is tough. I feel desperate there. I itch to leave.  Emotions squeeze my chest and paralyze my thoughts.  Sucks that I have a major conference in just a month.  I am trying to push through it and make some needed progress at work, but I just couldn’t spend more than 6 hours there today.

I need some diversions, not that I don’t have them already. My friends have been amazing in keeping me sane. I am playing fantasy football this year (as Melons in Motion), although some could argue that I am not “playing” so much as I am losing.  I have a marathon in a week (in San Fran!). My place could use a serious scrubbing. I still need to find a stove, like now! So there are things to do, I am just barely doing them. I’ve been paying my bills late, which is SO not like me.  I just can’t get her out of the front of my brain. I suppose things means I am human.

In fun news, I am invoking my Minnesotan accent to aid in my Halloween costume this year. So I’ve been practicing saying, “Hi, I’m Sarah, pleased to meetcha.”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2008 8:41 pm

    [sigh]

    If you need a beer buddy, you know who to call.

  2. October 13, 2008 11:40 pm

    Sorry to hear that your Melons are in Slow Motion. I am proud to report, however, that Mr. T’s House of Pity is in FIRST PLACE!

    Diversion you say? Lemme know when you can hit a NOVA Vikings fanclub game.

    p.s. – Don’t forget to countertop smack the midget!

  3. DC Sports Chick permalink
    October 14, 2008 8:33 pm

    You’re welcome to come play with the baby any time! She’ll make you smile.

  4. October 16, 2008 11:30 am

    Girls and I are here too for lots of fun and entertainment. I am sure the girls could talk to you and share stories until you can no longer stand the sounds of their voices. 😉 I love you!!!!!!!!!! and me…I have lots of big hugs if you need them!

  5. K to da C permalink
    February 28, 2009 5:48 pm

    I’m just now catching up on your blog and this one hit me in the pit of my stomach because it rang true and I’m there again. In shock and disbelief. Sending you a big warm hug.
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

