Skip to content

120.0

September 2, 2008

Double the mileage from July?  Wow.  I would be worried but I feel good and strong and I stuck to the prescribed plan of action (missing just one run and not adding any extra mileage for the entire month).  However, I am finding that I am not mentally in it.  Most of my runs feel great, but mentally I don’t really look forward to them.  For the most part I get over it within the first quarter mile and things are good, but on the longer ones the lack of mental toughness means that come mile 14, 15, 16, 17 and on I start to get lazy and more willing to take a walk break (or completely come unglued like my 18-miler on Sunday).  In the grand scheme of things, it doesn’t really matter.  But if I want to run a good marathon (and hopefully do better than my last two outings) I need to find some steely resolve somewhere.  Anyone know where I can pick some of that up?

September isn’t going to be any easier, with a somewhat insane travel schedule on the horizon and two 20-milers that are due before the actual race, I am a little scared for how I am going to stay on track. Keep on keeping on I guess?

Sometime in the semi near future I will post pictures of my new kitchen floor that went in almost a month ago.

On an unrelated note does anyone else think Brian Williams looks like Guy Smiley? I mean, it bothers me.  Well I guess it’s not so much the resemblance that bothers me but rather his cartoonish eyebrows.

One Comment leave one →
  1. anon permalink
    September 13, 2008 10:12 pm

    looks good. I am recovering from knee surgery, so I am up to an amazing 40 per month! Can’t wait to get back into shape.
    JR
    http://www.absolutefolios.com

Leave a Reply

