Skip to content

60.3

August 1, 2008

Sixty miles for July.  Measly by normal training standards, but ok for me considering I was coming off an injury at the beginning of the month.  This training season is going to be ridiculously conservative taking into consideration the calf issues I developed in June.  I suppose that’s ok.  Just let me run a good race, finish and get that Tiffany necklace!

I am having trouble motivating myself to do anything other than run, i.e. I haven’t been cross training at all.  I know this is what I need to do in order to stay healthy, but I can’t seem to get myself to do it.  I’ve cross trained a grand total of 4 times this month.  I didn’t miss a run, but I didn’t go to yoga and I didn’t lift a damned thing either.  Not sure what my issue is.  Last year this time, I would have cross trained four times in one week…and loved it. Ugh.

I am feeling good on all of my runs though. I’ve dropped down to three to four times a week so as not to over train and I am actually ENJOYING my tempo runs.  Usually I hate them as it requires you to run at a pace that is slightly faster than you are comfortable with, ie mildly painful.  However with my lower mileage, I am finding myself looking forward to them.  I doubt much will come from it, meaning I don’t think I will get faster or anything but I do hope they are going to help me feel somewhat comfortable out on the varrying elevations of San Francisco during the race.

Although I think my newest obsession will help on that front too.  Once a week I’ve taken to adding the stairs behind the Lincoln Memorial that go down to Rock Creek Parkway to my 3 mile easy run.  It kicks ass and I love the throbby way my quads feel afterward.

There is a 12-miler this Saturday, longest one for me of the season. I tried hitting twelve last month and that’s when my calf started acting up, so fingers crossed…

One Comment leave one →
  1. Buggie permalink
    August 4, 2008 12:30 am

    Maybe this is a good thing, you are switching things up by doing stairs instead of yoga. You are feeling good about your runs and that is what is important. Just be careful with yourself. You are precious to me.

Leave a Reply

