Skip to content

You, again

July 21, 2008

Two years ago we hooked up. To be honest I was looking to you to fill a void in my life. I spent a little time trying to repair that void myself, but without much luck I ended up turning to you. We started out fast–upgraded, international flights here and there and even though things were shiny and new we were content to spend most of our days together at home. Granted, we each had our own space but aren’t the best relationships like that? I really thought we’d go far together, so I am sure you can at least try to imagine my astonishment when you ran out on me last month. Even more so to do it at the airport, as we were about to get on the plane! I mean what did I ever do to you to deserve that? Sure, longing for the one before you may have caused a strain, but I was getting over that. It had been two years for God’s sake, I was committed to YOU! What’s even worse is that I can’t even pinpoint the vaguest reason why you’d wait until we were at the airport to jet out on me…just after security, before I put my shoes back on? Why? Why then? Was it the hint of superiority I exuded after skipping all of the long lines at Dulles, using my Premiere flight status to my full advantage? Minor infraction if you ask me. Plus I know deep down you enjoyed that perk too. Hell, were you offended by the odor of my feet as I removed my shoes to step through the metal detector? It’s not like we hadn’t done that together a handful of times before. I just don’t understand. I saw the older gentlemen behind me, and I saw they way he looked at you. Was it him? Was the thought of staying with me so atrocious that you decided to just leap into his arms, leaving me stranded?

You, of all people, leaving me at the airport before our trip to London. It’s…it’s unacceptable!


And do you know how much trouble you’ve gotten me into with the State Department, my job, TSA????

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Quagmire permalink
    July 21, 2008 11:28 am

    That sucks. If you find it, bury it in the mortar – mafia style.

  2. July 21, 2008 11:57 am

    No, really the old dude nabbed it at the airport (by accident I believe) and I won’t be seeing it again. Like, ever. I had to get an emergency passport issued two days after chickadee took off at the airport. So now I am on passport #3.

  3. Buggie permalink
    July 21, 2008 12:17 pm

    Best story ever

  4. Clussy permalink
    July 21, 2008 1:08 pm

    You have a much more… involved relationship with your passport than I’ve ever heard about. I’m sorry that your travel mate and all his/her reincarnations has been so rebellious. Maybe you should get a wrist band for it?

  5. July 21, 2008 8:28 pm

    Thanks Buggie, loved that I fooled you (if only for an sentence) 🙂

    Cluss, well if your passport kept skipping out on you at inopportune times, you’d get a little pressed over yours too.

  6. July 28, 2008 8:15 am

    Maybe I need to give mine some more attention!!! Cabos anyone??? I think Cluss is right, you need a wrist band for it 😉 HEE HEEE

  7. July 30, 2008 8:04 am

    I have been waiting so long for this! You did it up very well, my friend:-) Very well indeed.

Leave a Reply

