Skip to content

35.3

July 7, 2008

I am late in posting and low in mileage.

Thirty-five and change miles for June.  Not a good total for the official start month of marathon training.

Two things happened:

1.  Travel. I had a trip to the UK for work early in the month, but I had a plan–short, but frequent runs while I was away. I was even going to treadmill it if I had to.  Many, many things went wrong with this trip, to say the least.  The sum of these things resulted in 12+ hour days and complete mental and physical exhaustion.  So there was no running, at all, that week.

2.  Ouchy.  Two weeks ago I was out for a long run, a 12-miler on the Custis trail that was eventually headed to Upton Hill.  So basically straight up for 6 miles.  Well my calf only lasted 3.5 before I got the first hint of the stabby pains that have coincided with past calf injuries.  Trying to be smart and avoid a real injury, I stopped, tried to stretch it out (to no avail) and decided it was in my best interest to turn around and walk home.  I took a couple of days off, iced and such but two days later I could only get a mile in before the stabby stabby came back.

So, having been through the drill before, I took two weeks off to let the muscle fibers reweave themselves–hence sucky June mileage.  Now I don’t know what to do to get back on track with training. It’s obvious my body won’t let me overdo it, but mentally this is going to be hard. I’ve never been injured during training before.

I hit a decent four miles this evening w/o any pain so I think my self-prescribed time off was a good thing.  Now all I need is a plan.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Quagmire permalink
    July 9, 2008 4:10 pm

    You should get a stalker to chase you around town. That will get your mileage up.

    Just make sure you find an in-shape stalker. You don’t want to give anyone a heart attack.

    66 doesn’t have much planned for the summer.

Leave a Reply

