Skip to content

67.4

June 3, 2008

Sixty-seven and four tenths miles for May.

The spreadsheet worked! I stayed on track and didn’t go overboard (risking injury) like I did last year and perfectly upticked from last month’s 47. Woo.

May got me up to 9-mile long runs. Finally, runs of substance…feels like it took so long to get past 4 and 5 milers. Although the 9.5 I did this past Saturday was the suckiest of the suck. Looooong uphills, heat, humidity and back again. I felt like ass for 5 miles and then it was awesome and I felt amazing later. This is good, as I have a 10-miler on Saturday to mark the official start of marathon training so I have really start getting psyched up for the 7am Saturday training runs.

May introduced me to a new running partner. JessT has finally succumbed to my whining and has now met me for 3 or 4 early morning runs. It’s awesome because we have two totally different approaches; she runs under the theory of “the faster you run, the faster you are finished”, where my long-distance training comes into play even for 3-milers and I find myself pacing and reserving energy for the first 2 miles. Not productive. So she keeps me on my toes and is teaching me to have faster starts.

May also saw the addition of a new runner in the crew. Laura B has officially joined the running ranks and, I believe, is looking for a kick ass 5-K sometime in September to mark her foray into the sport. Suggestions?

Here’s to no more twinges, no pain, comfy shoes and 20-mile weeks in June!

Oooh and stay tuned for the next post: MKR: The Counterop Edition
wheeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeee!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. chanuck permalink
    June 3, 2008 10:04 pm

    the “911” 5 k in Arlington is a good one. I enjoyed it when I did it.

  2. June 4, 2008 9:59 pm

    I think I will do the 9-11 race. Wanna run it with me, Chanuck? Registration is not up yet.

    Thanks for the inspiration Marci. My goal is to meet your 67.4 miles by the end of the year:-)

  3. June 5, 2008 1:31 pm

    That whooshing sound is me passing y’all on the left in my Nimbus 9’s. Don’t worry though, I’ll reserve a table at the post-run bar for us.

  4. June 5, 2008 1:59 pm

    I can do the 9-11 race with you guys! It’s on Sept. 6? I won’t leave until the next day Laura, and with this one being local, it’s totally doable! So keep me in the loop 🙂

    I forgot Hammer joined the running ranks recently too, sorry thing is that it’s probably true that he’s faster than us combined. Jerk.

  5. June 5, 2008 3:08 pm

    Thanks for the suggestion Chanuckie!

  6. June 5, 2008 10:57 pm

    6’2″ means fewer steps to get where I’m goin’. It’s pretty damn awesome until I clonk my head on those street signs and low branches.

  7. June 6, 2008 12:47 pm

    79.5

    :-p
    (Had to get it in before you beat me next month.)

  8. June 9, 2008 5:08 pm

    Is there a 9/11 “50 yard dash”, or a 9/11 “3-legged race”? I might be willing to participate in those.

Leave a Reply

