Skip to content

47.0

May 1, 2008

Forty seven miles flat for the month of April.

Not bad for just coming off  10 weeks of absolutely zero running, huh? Last time I posted mileage it was last October, marathon month, and I had run 128.7 miles in four weeks.   April’s mileage puts me at 36% of that total, which I am pretty happy about.  Coming back too fast would just get me injured again, and we all know that I am not happy when injured and not running.  I’ve stuck to the spreadsheet I showed you guys a few weeks ago, well I’ve stuck to the running portions the spreadsheet, but I’ve been kinda lazy about my other workouts (lifting,  yoga and cross-training).  I need to work on that for May.  But all scheduled runs are in and accounted for, actually I have more than accounted for…when I did the spreadsheet I forgot to put Race for Hope on and I realized it too late, so I might walk that this Sunday instead of running it.  You know, just to be safe and not go over my allotted mileage.

I really like checking off these runs every week, I think I am going to extend the spreadsheet through June. Will be mighty helpful with the travel. This month is Baltimore and Boston, next month is London, Chicago, Minneapolis and Chicago.

I just hope the foot holds up. It hasn’t been hurting since I started wearing my beloved Nike Air Pegasus exclusively again, but it has been “twingy”…like I am aware of a certain spot on my foot that isn’t quite right.  It might be psychosomatic for all I know, but it’s just something I am trying to be careful about.  Plus my right calf has been tight for a couple of weeks now, so I am am keeping a super close eye on that as well.  We don’t need any calf tear repeats.  Although it doesn’t feel like that, it just feels constantly tight, something regular yoga would probably help with.  Sigh. I really do need to get on that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2008 9:10 am

    I run a paltry 8 miles a week to your champion status, but I was having this annoying snapping feeling in my right achilles, and someone told me an ancient secret to fix it. Stretch. Who knew? Not I. But I was going to email you and cry to you if something really bad happened.

  2. May 8, 2008 10:27 am

    I had to walk across the living room to answer the phone because our cordless phone was resting in the cradle.

    Afterwards, I rested on the couch, and made sure the phone was right next to me.

  3. May 14, 2008 11:12 am

    Velvet – Injuries, NO! Stretch, cross-train and rest. Also, hysterical about your mystery comment below.

    Phil – You are a true athlete.

Leave a Reply

