Skip to content

MKR: Decisions

April 29, 2008

If you are so inclined, you can read full up on MKR (My Kitchen Renovation) here.

So no, I have not given up the kitchen project after poking the beast a few weeks ago. If you remember, when I left you I had no light in the kitchen. Well, God is good and thar she blows and well, the electrician came back and wow, light is a glorious thing. GLORIOUS! I have an overhead fixture in my kitchen for the first time in years! It’s practically life changing. It’s been at least two full weeks with it installed and working and I am still not in the habit of turning it on when I am in there…I find myself halfway through chopping a green pepper when the realization dawns that I do not have to do this task in the dark. Hallelujah is all I can say.

I have been stalled for a couple of weeks searching for a granite tile reseller. My Mom tracked down a manufacturer called Benissimo who makes granite tiles that mimic the look of custom-cut granite slab countertops. (This is the option I chose as tiling the counter means I can get free labor, where ordering a slab means I would get the 50-60% upcharge for professional installation. ) So after a failed visit to Woodbridge, several “no we don’t sell that anymore”‘s, and at least one circular conversation I found a reseller in Fredrick, MD. The same Fredrick, MD that is a zillion miles away. But they were sweet as pie on the phone and what with having no luck with anything remotely nearby, I hopped in the car last Saturday and drove up there. Stroup Floor Center is super, they have tons of stuff, and they were more than willing to show me the Benissimo tiles I came for (I’d had trouble with this because it is geared towards DIYers and the flooring places don’t like it and keep trying to sell you on their installed products instead). Done, easy peasy, right?

No. Of course when I got there and saw the tiles in person, my mind changed and unchanged and well, I had no idea which color tile to go with. On the web, I had thought it would be an easy choice between the Giallo Amalfi and possibly the Platinum Quartz. But no, when I got there neither of those were in serious contention and I was heavily conflicted between Verde Natural, Grigio Classico and possibly the Giallo Amalfi. The salesperson told me I had to take them home, it was imprudent to decide in the store and practically shoved me out to my car with three large tiles to fret over. He assured me that the choice would be obvious almost immediately.

Uh, not so much.

I am totally conflicted between the Verde Natural and the Grigio Classico (now called “brown” and “gray” respectively). The brown is tinged with green which is what is holding me back from this one. The gray is surprisingly gorgeous, although I am unsure it fits with the “modern Tuscan touch” I am looking for in there.

I called my mother, she said “gray?!?” on the phone. I sent her pictures. Now she is of the same mindset as me. Conflicted.

This is what I am dealing with:

Brown

Gray

The photo behind the tiles is my inspiration for my backsplash. So I think I am leaning towards the brown, a little bit. Anyone have any opinions?

8 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 10:57 pm

    Wow. The brown is superior with no hesitation.

  2. April 30, 2008 8:35 am

    I love the brown!!!!!!!!! I think it is YOU and your kitchen!!!! BROWN BROWN BROWN!!!!

  3. Clussy permalink
    April 30, 2008 9:41 am

    Actually, I agree that it’s tough because the grey granite would brighten the kitchen up more but I also personally like the brown better because it’s warm and looks more indulgent and less generic. The gray looks like… gray stone. Cool but, just gray. The brown looks like a slab of chocolate. Mmmm.

  4. April 30, 2008 3:50 pm

    The brown. I was going to go with gray, because brown is so dark. But with your white paint and the fact that the brown will help your kitchen coordinate with the dining and living rooms, plus would add a great contrast in your kitchen, I say brown.
    chocolate, mmmmmm

  5. May 1, 2008 7:57 am

    This would be a victory for brown people everywhere.

  6. May 1, 2008 10:31 am

    I think you may be going about this all wrong. Just visit all of the floor tile stores you can find, take all the samples you can get, and call it a ‘quilted look’.

  7. May 1, 2008 4:45 pm

    Ok, the Verde Natural was ordered.

    BROWN IS THE WINNER!

    Thanks so much for your opinions! I may pose more questions to the peanut gallery when it comes time to pick the backsplash tile. I should really get on that now…

  8. May 2, 2008 9:08 am

    Hey….I’m catching up on your running escapades and see in the sidebar that I apparently commented. Then I see above that I did. Huh. I don’t remember making that quasi-racist comment! But I know who did. HA!

Leave a Reply

