Skip to content

MKR: The beginning comes to a close

April 1, 2008

I left you all with a photo of my brand-spanking new and freshly patched fuse box last week. That was installed on Good Friday, and with the power turned back on, what a Good Friday it was. A few days later the parents and my brother D came over to finish out the priming and sanding.

kitchen-cabinets.jpg

Walls and ceiling were primed with latex Kilz primer (so much nicer than the oil-based stuff needed for the cabinets) and holes were sanded, smoothed and touched-up as necessary.

Mom and I also finished painting the interior space of the cabinetry – the color is a uber creamy off-white called Magnolia Blossom. She’s been busy at her house painting all the cabinet doors and drawers the same color.

I am going to paint the inside back wall of the cabinets a sage or a light celery to match a yet to be purchased green tile I will use on the the back splashes. That’s why the backs of the top cabinets still show the whitewashed primer look.

I don’t have any lights in the kitchen yet, the brother in law will come over next time to install the overhead fixture and reassess my wants for accent and task lighting. Now that we know I have full on cinder blocks hiding in my walls, he may not be able to do what he thought he could as far as drilling to hide electrical wires and installing new switches.

But, woo hoo, a drama-free MKR day!
Next stop: paint on the walls! And lights! Gah and I need to start shopping for granite tiles for the counter tops…

counters.jpg

You can read previous My Kitchen Renovation (MKR) posts here.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 1, 2008 8:47 pm

    Wow. it’s really coming along. Kick ass!

  2. April 2, 2008 10:39 am

    Woot!! How cool 🙂

  3. April 16, 2008 8:37 am

    Hi Marci,
    This is Cass’ friend Kevin, the frisbee throwing, dirty paint cloths wearing, bearded guy.

    Wanted to drop a note like I said I would several weeks ago, my blog is at http://www.mycasualinsanity.blogspot.com.

    Looks like your kitchen renovations are going good/frustrating. Having gone through this several times, all the frustrations make the “It’s finished!!” moment that much better.

    You mentioned that you were looking for a new stove. I actually have one that has barely been used that I am trying to sell. Check out the ad, http://washingtondc.craigslist.org/nva/hsh/642690845.html

    good luck, and Cass (and the weather) tells me there is ultimate coming in the near future.

Leave a Reply

