Skip to content

So, more about my box…

March 25, 2008

You can read how it failed here.

Wanna see a picture of it?

dscf0002.jpg

Kinda gross, huh? Well this is what it looked like after the old fuse box was removed and before the new one was put in. And to answer the question from yesterday, it takes approximately 7 hours to put in a new box.

Seven freaking hours.

Perhaps it wouldn’t take seven hours if one’s fuse box was housed like other, more normal and less retarded fuse boxes. But considering that the brown sandy gunk you see in the photo is basically concrete set behind a layer of sheet rock you can imagine how difficult it would be to remove it. Perhaps you can’t imagine, let me give you a closer look….

annotated-wall.jpg

And now here is a photo of how much crap had to come out of the wall in order to get the “box area” to look like the photos above:

dscf0006.jpg

Looks like fun, eh? So the poor electrician, thinking this a fairly simple job, finally realizes around Noon that the old box wasn’t coming out with a fight. That rubble above was born from a generator-powered power saw thingy applied to my kitchen wall. Eeep! Needless to say I spent most of the afternoon with my eyes and ears covered, whimpering on my sofa.

At one point the electrician yelled out, “Oh my God!”. Which gave me a mild heart attack, as those are not really the words you hope to hear escape your electrician’s mouth. But apparently that is the appropriate response when one realizes that the contact board inside one’s fuse box has been left dangling inside one’s wall, attached by nothing except the incoming live wires. Yeah.

So around 2pm he finally is at the point where he can start hooking up the new fuses. That is a mere 5 hours later. Poor guy, he really had no clue. By 4:30 he is done and trying to bolt out of my house, apparently he has more calls to attend to. I guess this is how those pesky service/installation folks end up horribly behind schedule? Oops? Sorry?

Whatevs, check out my new box:

dscf0047a.gif

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2008 4:01 pm

    She also made phone calls to me in a tremulous voice. Sad, really.

    Yay, power

  2. March 25, 2008 5:29 pm

    What?! That doesn’t look like any box I’ve ever seen.

  3. chanuck permalink
    March 25, 2008 7:52 pm

    That looks like a job and a half.

  4. anon permalink
    March 26, 2008 12:30 pm

    that wasn’t done to code. Get him back to the apt and have him finish. You are going to kill some kid when they touch those live wires.

  5. March 26, 2008 6:14 pm

    I take back what I said earlier about wanting to own so I could do home-improvementy type stuff.

    I take it all back.

  6. March 27, 2008 6:19 pm

    Yep. I’ve seen this. When we redid the kitchen , we moved the phone and boom, this pile of shiot popped up just like that.

    Good luck and be safe!

  7. March 27, 2008 8:55 pm

    While I’m sorry for your trouble, I’m glad you didn’t s’plode.

Leave a Reply

