Skip to content

To decide or not to decide, that is the question…but what is the freaking answer?

February 8, 2008
tags:

So it’s true that I started shopping for a laptop back in December. What is also true is that I am horribly indecisive when it comes to spending much over $22.00. This combination translates to the fact that I have yet to purchase saidmacbookpro.jpg laptop.

I am frugal and not one to make snap decisions, so all the opinions I’ve gathered and research I’ve done have left me in a terrible lurch that essentially boils down to one question:

PC or Mac?

And depending on the day of the week, I will be 98% sure of one or the other. Hell, just today I’ve flip flopped three times, going from pro-Mac to pro-PC to neutrally undecided.

Ugh.

Mac Pros:
~I fit in with the whole Mac mentality
~I do a good bit of photo editing/manipulation
~I am ridiculously impatient, and Mac’s speed and battery life probably won’t annoy me on a daily basis
~I do some graphic design for my job
~I have no less than 3 Apple Genius Bars within a 10-mile radius of my home for troubleshooting
~Tend to have a long life with little trouble

Mac Cons:
~’Spenive
~Lack of available free software (ie, stuff my job could get me)
~Horrible interface with Outlook Web Access (a key component I will be using the computer for)

PC Pros:
~Ability to procure free software from the job
~Readily available free tech support in the form of all the smart, techy people I claim to be my friends, family and co-workers
~Cheap(er)

PC Cons:
~Ugly
~Prone to dysfunction and hackers
~Windows Vista is a sucky OS
~Not as good a value for the money
~Not known to last as long as Macs
~Programs I run will slow processing speeds, thus annoying me on a frequent basis

So I am undecided. And I hate it, it stresses me out. I know it’s all my own damn fault. But I am pleading for your advice. If you have any opinions one way or the other, experiences, rumors, what have you, I’d love to hear them!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 8, 2008 9:20 pm

    Judging from your list, the Mac Pros and PC Cons outweigh the flipside. I think you have already made your decision…now just do it!

  2. February 9, 2008 8:42 pm

    Go with a MacBook Pro. You will not regret it. But you should be aware that there are Five Stages to a Mac Metamorphosis. As long as you come to terms with these, you’ll be okay. I went through a similar dilemma when my PC crashed, and it took me actually ordering another PC to realize that was entirely the wrong decision. Take it from me, cut to the chase and get the Mac.

  3. Jen permalink
    February 11, 2008 10:48 am

    Mac all the way, baby!

  4. February 13, 2008 2:57 pm

    I guess I’m going to have to be the voice of reason, here. If I understand their advertisements correctly, if you buy a mac you have to act like an elitist neohippie jackass. And no one wants that.

  5. February 15, 2008 12:27 am

    I for see a mac in your future! This message is being left by a mac – enough said.

Leave a Reply

