Skip to content

You can all stop holding your breath now

December 10, 2007

Ok so I am officially shopping for a laptop, for my home, for reals. This coming from the girl that has not had internet in her home since she had roommates way back in ’00, has not ever owned her own computer (I “borrowed” my parent’s old IBM PS2 whilst in college), does not have a microwave oven, nor even a working toaster.

So, this is a big deal.

For the past few years, I’ve gotten myself a year-endnapping.jpg present of sorts. Three years ago it was Troy, my blue sofa from Crate & Barrel. Two years ago, it was my new front teeth. Last year, it was trying to pay down some of the 20 of my 80/20 mortgage (lame, I know but I’m responsible what can I say). So I am thinking this year I should get a laptop and an internet connection. I hate the idea of adding a monthly bill to my monthly bills, but I think the inevitable stress reduction that will ensue will make it well worth it. Well, not worth the $40-$80/month I have been quoted today!

What’s with Arlington and the lack o’ ISPs? Do any of you Arlingtonites have cheap internet service? Who do you use? I ain’t shacking up with Verizon FiOS that’s for damn sure.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 10, 2007 8:57 pm

    Normally I’d say go FiOS all the way, but since we’re taking baby (banana) steps here, maybe look into PeoplePC? I think they’re $9.99/mo. Better yet, have any neighbors with un(or poorly)secured wifi?

    Troy looks very alluring.

  2. December 10, 2007 9:00 pm

    FIOS beats the pants off the other big option, Comcast. (or Crapcast as I like to refer to them) I will be switching to FIOS in the next few days.

  3. December 10, 2007 11:20 pm

    Ohhh Banana… Really, you must love the FiOS.

    Shame this is coming at the end of football season.

  4. December 11, 2007 12:59 am

    See if you can pick up a connection in your building, then go to that person (if you can figure out who it is from the list) and see if they want to unlock it or give you the password and split the bill. If comcast craps out on me one more time, I’m totally doing this with my neighbor. I like beating the system.

  5. Quags permalink
    December 11, 2007 10:22 am

    Look at RCN also, you can get it bundled with CABLE!

    And don’t you have a ton of frequent flyer miles you can trade in for cash/purchases. Get your laptop that way. And an xbox 360 so 66 has a reason to visit.

  6. December 11, 2007 10:27 am

    I have to call RCN, the internet told me they don’t service my area but that seems so ridiculous.

    And no no no to the $60/month bill that is FiOS! NO!

    Will check People PC and perhaps not even worry about it all what with all the suggestions for stealing and cheating the system! I KNEW you guys would have good ideas.

  7. Your co-hort at work permalink
    December 11, 2007 12:07 pm

    I say steal from your neightbors. That’s what I had to do while I waited for my wireless to be hooked up. Hence why I call my wireless “Mine, not for you!”

Leave a Reply

