Skip to content

My MCM 2007

November 9, 2007

The second time around was so much nicer, and much less painful. See here, for the painful version from last year.

Woo. I escaped marathon training and the actual race without injury. As this was my main goal, I am thrilled. nike.jpg

So after…
…418.3 miles of training
…2 pairs of Nike Air Pegasus
…64 summer mornings and nights filled with training runs
…16 packages of Sport Beans consumed
…Countless happy hours missed
…45 evenings of cross training
…Gallons and gallons of water and Gatorade chugged
…6.5 Official sign-wielding, race-day cheerleaders
(Thank you Buggie, Laura, I-66, Frank, Liz, Baby Chanuck, and KC! You guys rocked!)

and

…7 days rest

I am ready to do it again. I think the next target is the National Marathon here in March.

Should I be worried that I was able to get through all of the above w/o nary a scratch and then upon hitting my first morning run post-race, I came home with this:

bruise.jpg

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 9, 2007 9:28 pm

    You are my inspiration. Last year in honor of this event, I went from 2.5 miles to 3.5. Sadly, I cannot go to 4.5, because my knees creak like an 80 year old woman and I’m on muscle relaxers for my back. Yessss welcome to the mid-30’s!

    I’m glad you made it through this MCM without an injury. Well, until the next day, that is. That’s cause your guard was down! You were feeling all happy and accomplished, admit it!!!

  2. November 10, 2007 1:49 pm

    Congrats on a better race this year!! Glad to hear it went well. 🙂

  3. November 11, 2007 5:11 pm

    It was such a great day! Loved seeking ya out in the crowd and listening to Bug yell “go Nike” to passers-by. Good job:-) By the way, I adore the baby link.

  4. November 11, 2007 6:43 pm

    What’s that you brought home with you? It looks like some kind of tomato based dish.

    (great job by the way!)

  5. November 12, 2007 9:41 am

    LOL. I like the image for the baby 🙂

  6. November 14, 2007 3:02 pm

    Congrats!!! and those bananas in the water are sweet lookin’

Leave a Reply

