Skip to content

128.7

October 1, 2007
tags:

Got some real mileage on the boards now. You know it’s good when you are well over one hundred. Finally. Had some good and some not so good runs this month. The 22.5 miler two weekends ago was pretty brutal–mainly because of the ridiculous humidity-wave that settled in just in time for an early Saturday morning run. The 16 I did this past Saturday incurred much nicer weather. And even though I felt slow throughout, I ended up averaging 10:18 minute miles. Which is pretty good for me on a long run. Which is why it’s important to wear a watch and time yourself even if you don’t care what the time is…days when you feel like crap can actually be some of your best runs, but without empirical evidence to demonstrate that fact, it’s hard to tell.

So one month to go until the Marine Corps Marathon. Be like Laura and plug it into your calenders bitches. Sunday, October 28 8:00AM.

In the interim there is/are/were: a few days in NYC, drunken karaoke nights, travel to Taipei, midnight make out sessions, Friday Night Frisbee (FNF), 75-hour work weeks, love sessions with the wifey, copious amount of coffee, a goodbye to one of my work-BFF’s, a guacamole-off, more emails any girl should ever have to even imagine replying to, baking something fabulous, a new (for me) bike (hellooo tri training!?!?), a solo 20-miler, and then taper!

October has barely started and I am already tired.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2007 1:34 pm

    I wondered if you were doing that race again. I guess in honor of your marathon this year, I will again pump my mileage up by 1. That will bring me to 4.5 miles. If I actually do the increase…maybe I’ll sit it out this year.

    But good luck with your 26.2!

  2. chanuck permalink
    October 1, 2007 4:26 pm

    You go girl!

  3. October 1, 2007 7:13 pm

    “October has barely started and I am already tired.” AMEN…

    “midnight make out sessions” Iba? Sounds promising and scandalous. Me Likey.

  4. October 2, 2007 8:38 am

    It’s day two and I am exhausted!!! 😉 We will all make it through though!! Will miss you this weekend!! and like Cluss…I wanna know!

  5. October 2, 2007 5:17 pm

    Glad to see the mileage getting higher again!

    Did I read tri training?? 🙂

  6. October 12, 2007 10:03 am

    Congrats and good luck chica!

    I am training for my first race at the end of this month-it’s no 26.2…but my first 5k. HUGE for me and so much fun. Thinking about the cherry blossom race in the spring too. Crazy! I am addicted!

    Hope all is well 🙂

  7. The Captain permalink
    October 24, 2007 10:40 am

    So is anyone going to watch Marci run this year? I might go watch…if you agree to sit Tom Brady this week.

Leave a Reply

