Skip to content

Well, frankly my dear, it’s no MNF

September 12, 2007

Give it up ABC NBC, you are not going to convince me that Sunday Night Football is better than MNF. Your snazzy marketing techniques are just pissing me off. Why pretend like football on a Sunday night was always the place to be — the big, nationally broadcasted game? No! I don’t care how many player, announcer and hall-of-famer testimonials you do, I still remember MNF! It’s only a season removed for crissakes. Ok, you might end up convincing me eventually. I am a sucker for all things NFL after all, but it’s going to take some time so stop shoving it down my throat (hello, I was the one still referring to CVS as “People’s Drug” as late as 2001…I don’t like change, o-kay!). I mean you could at least make it funny, maybe acknowledge whatever media snafus took place to initiate the switch. Humor and acknowledgment are the ways into this girl’s heart. Please and thank you.

Now, onto winning. Specifically, winning at Fantasy Football. Even more specifically winning out over a certain blogger. And yet even that much more specifically, winning BIG over that certain blogger. You know, like winning 100 points to 73? Yeah baby, Roughing the Melons is sitting pretty at the #1 spot after Week 1…the only one in the league to reach triple digits.

Who got me there? Tom Brady did ok for himself with Randy Moss going down field, a lot. Although I wonder how long that will last. Brady does play favorites though, unlike Manning, so maybe Randy will be happy for at least a season getting hit with long balls each week? Ron Curry, Moss’ “replacement” in Oakland put up some decent numbers but that has a lot to do with the opponent (although the Lions actually won) and a lack of other weapons in the Raider arsenal. And it surely wouldn’t be fantasy football if a kicker and a defense weren’t in the picture somewhere as well. To be expected, Jason Elam had a good game. The kid’s pretty consistent, he’s done me right the past two seasons so I will expect the same for this year. More surprisingly I milked 29 points out of the Viking Defense — an up and coming squad last year. I am just hoping for more of the same, turnovers, run backs and a strong D-line. Someone let the dogs out last weekend and the Vikes were able to roll over a harried Harrington. Gooooooo Melons!

 

melons.jpg

 

Ugh. And people, you all need to stop letting me go to Chicago!
It’s really not helping at all, ok?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2007 2:22 pm

    Bananas can’t see MNF on ABC. They must turn to NBC.

    Bananas also should patiently await their comeuppance, because the uppance is coming. Pretty evil grin or not.

  2. September 12, 2007 3:39 pm

    Hey! How come I wasn’t invited this year? What, no one wants a sure win?

    (That’s OK; I turned down all FF pool requests anyway due to the house. No time to concentrate.)

  3. September 12, 2007 3:45 pm

    First, I can’t believe I wasn’t invited to play this year. secondly, monday night football, the second game…what the hell?! Mike and Mike can kiss my left and right ass-cheek. Their play by play and voices didn’t translate from ESPN radio to the live game. that sucked!

    but yes, Sunday night football isn’t the same….but at least it’s football, right?

  4. September 12, 2007 3:56 pm

    There is no blogger league this year. I am in an annual league with a bunch of my friends and we had an open spot so I asked Marci to join.

  5. September 12, 2007 4:20 pm

    I accept your explanation, I-66. I hope Marci kicks your butt!
    😛

  6. Quags permalink
    September 12, 2007 5:03 pm

    WHAT??? You didn’t like Faith Hill singing a song from 8 years ago???

    Then, I cried on Monday night…

  7. September 12, 2007 8:08 pm

    Technically i-66, neither bananas nor highways can see MNF on either ABC or NBC. They must tune into ESPN to see MNF.

    And DCSC and Tri, as i-66 explained there was no snubbing. He would not do blogball this season (my guess is because his dominance was uh less than dominating) and I was just to damned busy to run a league myself. Maybe there will be a return of blogball next season?

    Quags, no. No. NO.

  8. September 12, 2007 9:19 pm

    Let me just go on record that the team name is absolutely outstanding. Peyton called and said he approves too.

    Congrats on the win. Sorry I-66 gave you the Belichick treatment – some guys just don’t know how to lose gracefully.

    Boo, I-66! Booooooo!!!!!!!!

  9. September 12, 2007 10:15 pm

    Maybe we should sit down and discuss SNF (just get over it and move on, like I’ve gotten over the fact that I really think that Bob Costas is hilarious and Tiki Barber is a jackass) (where was I?)…oh yes, discuss SNF and other things like umm, the windy city, over some crepes and several glasses of Vodka? Thoughts? Like in a week…

  10. September 12, 2007 10:47 pm

    Belichick treatment? Excuse me, Hammer, but I haven’t recorded any signals off of Marci’s coaches. I do have some integrity, dammit.

    At the time of my decision not to run Fantasy Blogball Volume 3: The Return To The Throne, I was questioning whether I’d any longer be a blogger. Chances are good that it will be back next year, but nothing is certain.

  11. September 13, 2007 2:25 pm

    I’ll keep an eye out for the return of blogball 2008, as I was looking for my revenge this year

Leave a Reply

