Skip to content

89.4

September 5, 2007

I’m a little late, but that’s my mileage for August. I finally feel like my mileage is actually in line with where I should be in training. Now it’s still considerably less than the 120+ miles I did in August of last year, but it’s still a lot. And better yet, I didn’t ramp up all crazy-like and make myself prone to injury like I did last month. So, there will be some more mileage added for September (which started with an amazing 18-miler along Chicago’s Lake Shore Drive this past Saturday — seriously my best run of the year!) and then it’s October and then BANG!, it’s practically marathon time. Eeek. I think I am more nervous for this year’s race than last year’s. Maybe it’s because I am being so aware of staying healthy?

So, my goal for September is dual. (1) Do not miss any long runs. I downgraded last week’s long run from the scheduled 20 to an 18 because I was out of town and the CARA (Chicago Area Running Association) group had a scheduled 18-miler. I figured running with a group would be a hell of a lot easier than trying to hit 20 on my own somehow. So I ran the 18 with the Chicago group in 3 hours, 6 minutes which I felt really good about (must have been the super weather). Then, for the rest of September my group has scheduled runs of 14, 17, 22 and 16 miles respectively. I have a bunch of mid-week travel plans so I am pretty confident that I won’t need to compromise any of those. (2) Add a couple miles to my mid-week tempo run. Possibly upping from 6 to 8 miles. I should have been doing this all along, but it’s hard to add mileage to the long runs AND the mid-week runs when you are trying to not let your overall mileage spiral out of control. So we’ll see, this will be a harder goal to achieve, what with all the traveling I have for this month…my fingers are crossed.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2007 3:30 pm

    Awww, I ran with the CARA half-marathon training program when I lived in Chicago. Those were some great runs along the lake– I’m so envious.

    Congrats on getting your mileage back up. You’re such a rockstar– you’re going to be great.

  2. quag permalink
    September 5, 2007 4:15 pm

    I got tired just reading that. Good for you. Hopefull we will have nice running weather this fall.

  3. September 5, 2007 7:32 pm

    wow, good for you keeping up with your running routine even when you’re in an awesome city like Chicago! hope you rewarded yourself with some deep dish pizza 🙂

  4. September 6, 2007 8:37 am

    You are sooo good, inspire me!!! 🙂

  5. The Captain permalink
    September 6, 2007 12:23 pm

    Um, I think my August mileage was 12 miles, and a lot of that was fast walking.

  6. September 7, 2007 3:54 pm

    No Vikings posts yet?!?!?!

    I may have to de-link you on general principle…

Leave a Reply

