Skip to content

It’s my party and I’ll…wait, it’s MY party?!

August 20, 2007

field-day-logo.jpgOne of the only real birthday parties I really remember ever having is from when I turned seven. Maybe it was six, but I am pretty sure it was seven. I am pretty sure of this because I know we were living in the townhouse in Eagan, MN and by the time I had turned eight we had moved to a rambler in Burnsville. So, seven. Anyway, because it was summer I didn’t have access to schoolmates to invite to my birthday party, just the kids from the neighborhood and daycare. Thing is, most of the kids I played with everyday…in the neighborhood with the sloping, connected-for-miles- newly paved driveways which were so utterly awesome for rollerskating and biking over…were either way younger or way older than me. And when you are seven, a nine year old is WAY older. This probably explains why I don’t remember having a particularly good time at said birthday party. My birthday party. WTF?

So this memory may be one of the driving reasons why I felt compelled to have a party this year. An actual party, not a happy hour as per my usual celebratory fete. A party with decorations, food and games. But done Banana-style, this translated to FIELD games. Like the kind you played at the end-of-the-school-year bash, called Field Day, in elementary school. Only this time we had adult beverages in addition to the Capri-Suns.

It was FANTASTIC. It’s going down in history as one of the best birthday’s ever and it wouldn’t have happened without the help of Buggie, Crispy C, Jen, Burma, and La Tigra. These girls rock and really made a great day uttlery fantastic. I seriously cannot thank them enough. And I must say that I have a really amazing circle of friends all around — to put up with my birthday antics, encourage them even and just be completely awesome people to hang out with. I love you all.

Pictures to come once the official photographers (Buggie, Frank DC Sports Chick and Harms) do their uploading.

Happy Birthday to me!

8 Comments leave one →
  1. August 20, 2007 1:03 pm

    Bated breath, Banana. Bated breath.

  2. Anonymous permalink
    August 20, 2007 2:07 pm

    Seriously…Funnest birthday party evah (tied with the old catchphrase fest at Bug’s). Marci, I think we all reverted back to being seven (just to come full circle with your first b-day party memory). Jen

  3. August 20, 2007 4:11 pm

    Hey! I took most of the pics AND did the uploading! That’s OK, I’ll let it go since you’re the birthday girl and threw a great party…

  4. August 21, 2007 8:35 am

    I had the best time EVER!!!!!!!!! All of your friends that were there were incredible, it was truly a wonderful time!! Old Skool RULEZ!!! Thank you for letting me bring the girls they were so happy and talked about it all the way home how much fun they had!!! ME TOO!! ME TOO!! I will upload pics tonight and email them to you, promise.

  5. August 21, 2007 2:30 pm

    Can’t wait to see the rest of the pics! Kodak moments!

    Had so much fun. Sorry I made Cowboy wear the ‘it’s funny till someone gets hurt’ tee. bad bad bad karma.

    No party rocks like a baby nanner party cuz a baby nanner party don’t stop! (it did for us when we had to leave w/out claiming our presidential awards though… boo!).

    If you can Bug can wash and ship your tees from Saturday over to me, I will be extremely grateful and will send you better tees in exchange.

  6. August 21, 2007 3:06 pm

    aaww!!! Happy birthday and man, I missed out on the field day games =(

  7. August 23, 2007 6:17 am

    SO SORRY I MISSED IT ALL! (Assuming I would have been invited:-) Just for you and your birthday, you should know you are the first blog I checked since I left the USandA! Happy belated one my dearrrrr.

  8. Heavensvoice permalink
    September 13, 2007 6:49 pm

    You like Peoples Drug? Im still hooked on Revco!

Leave a Reply

