Skip to content

Oh ya, it was super doncha know.

July 24, 2007

I am back, freshly returned from the land of 10,000 lakes. Although there are really way more than ten thousand of them in Minnesota and I am not sure how fresh one can be after traveling more than 2,400 miles by car with one’s parents.  O-well.

There was no baseball. There was no boozing. There was no one under the age of 54.  Yet, it was still nice.  Although a glass of wine (or eight) and a Metrodome seat at any one of the four-games that led to a sweeping of the A’s would have made it pretty freaking fantastic.  O-well.

I am pretty behind at work now, seeing as I vacated my desk in the midst of a deadline…although my awesome new boss had been the one urging me out the door (sensing my growing stress-levels I’m sure). O-well.

My north mid-western accent is back, more so this year than in year’s past. I don’t know why that is, but my “o”s sure are annunciated and go perfectly with the new handbeig I picked up. O-well.

I ran a few times while in St.Paul and even hit a longer(ish) one this weekend on my own with the iPod, but I’ve missed three long runs with the group now (of 10, 13 and 16 miles)  and need to find a way to successfully hit a 13.5 mile run this Saturday. O-well.

I guess that’s all I’ve got for now, not a lot to retell when you spend a total of four days in a 4Runner with your parents,  plus another four nights on an air mattress on the floor of your grandmother’s bedroom, and all you’re ingesting is water and fast-food through all of it. O-well.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 24, 2007 12:22 pm

    Whose air mattress? I need one soon.

    Glad you’re back 🙂

  2. Cassie permalink
    July 24, 2007 4:20 pm

    I love my northern mid-western accent. I only get it after a few days in South Dakota, but it’s pretty priceless! 🙂

  3. July 24, 2007 4:48 pm

    i-66: It’s the ‘rents air mattress. They have an awesome one though that blows itself up, stands three feet high and doesn’t move around like the raft-style mattresses. Needless to say, I did not get to sleep on that one.

    Cassie:It’s so cute isn’t it? I love it too.

  4. July 24, 2007 5:40 pm

    I may talk funny, but you know what?

    Around these here parts, you talk waaaaaay funnier. And by the sound of it, right now it’s worse than ever…

  5. July 24, 2007 6:43 pm

    Does northern (20 minutes south of WI) Illinois count for having a northern midwest accent? I totally have the O’s – especially after talking on the phone to my parents or friends for awhile, eh. What’s odd is now, when drinking, having some totally random word pop out with southern twang. I’m culturally confused.

    Good luck getting back in the swing of things at work – that always sucks. Glad you had a good trip!

  6. July 25, 2007 6:06 pm

    Hammer – Oh I am not so sure about that. We may be living below the Mason Dixon line, but “south” we are not.

    Mappy – Totally counts!

  7. July 26, 2007 4:52 pm

    My mom has not lived in her home state on MN for over 40 years, but a 10 min phone conversation with one of her sisters, and you’d think she just stepped off some Norse fishing boat.

  8. trybritri permalink
    July 26, 2007 5:10 pm

    Happy you’re back. You run with a group? and what Foo Fighters song is your fav?

Leave a Reply

