Skip to content

90.5

July 2, 2007

What a jump.

To go from running 54.2 miles last month to this, well that’s nearly double the mileage.  This actually worries me.  Too big of a jump is what injuries (like calf strains) are made of.  When increaseing mileage there are varrying formulas that work to “ramp” one up to big mileage. Stuff like, only increasing your long run (the 10, 12, 14+ milers on Saturday mornings) by 10-15% and only running that Saturday long run at a distance that is shorter than rest of your weekly mileage put together.  I think I had been adhereing to that first rule, but apparently not the second.

I mean last year, when I ran all winter and was in pretty much ridiculous shape going into marathon training, I only hit 67.8 miles for the month of June.

Ack, I think this means that I need to slow down.

 P.S. I was denied entry into the New York Marathon. Sooooo, this banana is in dire need of a fall marathon to run.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 2, 2007 2:26 pm

    wow. am suddenly feeling V. lazy here!

  2. July 2, 2007 4:22 pm

    I need to lie down.

  3. DCOE permalink
    July 2, 2007 6:49 pm

    Isn’t there one in Baltimore this fall? I think I saw the pamphlets for it at Golds…there is also some North Face Endurance Challenge in DC in early August that has a 50 mile race, a 50k, a half marathon and a 10k – might be good practice?

Leave a Reply

