Skip to content

So 8 out of 101 ain’t bad

June 28, 2007

101 things all sports fans must experience before they die

Despite what’s obviously missing from this list, it’s entertaining in it’s scope at least.  Plus I’ve hit eight (kinda) of them, so I’ve got that going for me.  Actually I am ok with my eight. There is a lot on that list that I won’t ever do (The F.A. Cup, Running of the Bulls for example), but there is a lot that I would do provided I had the time and the money.

Of the 101 thing Mr.Caple feels all sports fans should do, I’ve:

  • Been to a couple Stanley Cup play off games (not by anyone who won, but that doesn’t seem to be a requirement). (#20)
  • Had great seats at Wrigley Field for a Cubs game, but not in the bleachers so I wonder if this counts. (#22)
  • Attended Opening Day — for our 2007 Washington Nationals. (#35)
  • Watched a Town Ball game in Minnesota, I don’t remember graveyards, but there were definitely corn fields. (#40)
  • Cheered and yelled at several Minnesota high school hockey tournaments. Burnsville Braves all the way! (#82)
  • Been completely caught up in the hype of Monday Night Football. (#88)
  • Ooohed and Awwwed over a Little League game. (#91)
  • Bopped along to the balling beats of the Harlem Globetrotters. (#100)
  • I’ve even seen a cricket match in India (#93), but I just kind of lollygagged by and didn’t really watch it per se, nor do I know who was playing so I don’t think this counts.

Of the 92 things remaining on the list, I’d most want to:

  • Go to the Summer Olympics (#1)
  • See a World Series game (#4)
  • Check out Spring Training (#6)
  • Hit up some playoff football (#7)
  • See what real college football is all about and sit on the blue side of a Ohio State-Michigan game (#17)
  • Witness the All-Africa Amputee Football Tournament (#34)
  • Cheer on runners at the Boston Marathon (#36)
  • Take off to Canada for a Canadiens-Leafs game (#38)
  • Freeze my arse off at a Packers game (#54)

What have you done or what do you want to do next?

13 Comments leave one →
  1. June 28, 2007 9:01 am

    As a sports fan I’m embarassed to admit that I’ve only done 4 of the things on the list. I must improve.

    To do:

    English soccer
    Lambeau Field
    NCAA Subregional
    Conference title game
    Duke/UNC
    SEC Tailgating (specifically Tennessee)
    Rucker Park
    Lady Vols game

    …among other things

  2. June 28, 2007 9:02 am

    PS: Nice look.

  3. Quag permalink
    June 28, 2007 9:16 am

    Get my banana with the baby banana. Allll right
    (that’s a sport, right)

    like the new layout

  4. Quag permalink
    June 28, 2007 9:19 am

    ps. I’m sooo getting kicked off this blog.

  5. June 28, 2007 10:11 am

    You left one thing off the list:

    Register for fantasy football league ☺

  6. June 28, 2007 10:58 am

    36. As a semi-drunken spectator.
    72. Went camping there not realizing it was the same weekend at Sturgis. Fell alseep to the sounds of revving Harleys every night.
    88. Vikings – Ravens on the 50-yard line.
    91. Well, duh. I coach it.
    100. Once when I was a kid.

    p.s. – This year I will finally enter the blogger FFL and take lunch money from all you chumps!

  7. June 28, 2007 11:15 am

    That guy got his Premiership rivalries wrong. It’s not Chelsea-Arsenal. It’s Arsenal-Tottenham. Bush league ESPN, bush league.

  8. June 28, 2007 11:27 am

    Highway man: Four? Four? Pathetic.
    (and thank you)
    Quagmire: You are right, you are close to getting booted.
    Hammert: Sturgis? Tre cool. Even cooler somehow that is was by accident. But get this, I-66 is trying to decline setting up Fantasy BlogBall this year! Whaa?
    Luckster:You are such the soccer nerd.

  9. June 28, 2007 12:10 pm

    Arsenal/Spurs or Chelsea/Fulham, yes… though these days I would rather see Arsenal/Chelsea over either of those two derbies.

  10. June 28, 2007 1:52 pm

    Yes well, I’m a spurs fan so it particularly offended me.
    And Marci, I’m SO not a soccer nerd, which makes his mistake all the more unforgivable. Even someone with just a passing knowledge of the premier league knows what the main rivalries are.

  11. June 28, 2007 1:58 pm

    oh and also, I hate Chelsea.

  12. June 29, 2007 11:27 am

    I’ve only done 4. Of course I’ve got a while.

    Things I’ve Done:
    NCAA Subregional – TWICE! (My favorite sporting event to attend live. These are amazing.)
    Red Sox v. Yankees
    Little League game – I even covered them for newspapers
    Harlem Globetrotters Game

    I really want to attend:

    ACC Basketball Tournament – Almost went when it came to the MCI Center
    Baseball All-Star Game
    Summer Olympics
    Permian High School football game

  13. DCOE permalink
    July 2, 2007 6:50 pm

    I’ve definitely done #36 – four years in a row!

Leave a Reply

