Skip to content

Aversion to sleeping

June 6, 2007

So has this ever happened to anyone before?

Well, more an aversion to the physical act of going to bed and not for reasons such as excessive alertness or anything.

Last night, after a particularly long and stressfull day at work and a quickie gym session, I arrived home just after 9pm. It was too late for a full dinner so I made due chair-front-view.jpgwith some chips and salsa, a hunk of cheese and a fudgesicle.  Wanting some downtime, I curled up in my big, green chair, did the WaPo’s sudoku puzzle, about half the crossword and read the sports section as I had the TV on for background entertainment (was that Beyonce acting like a crazed, tongue-speaking freak on some Latin awards show?  WTF?  Also, not as hateful towards The Hoff as I thought I was — kinda liked him actually). So the 10pm shows come on and go off and this about the time that I head to bed (if not before).  But tonight I am not ready.  I am not doing anything, but the thought of hitting the sheets actually kind of depresses me.  I am tired, but not yet willing to don that XXL Chicago Bears t-shirt and snuggle up under my orange, down bedding.  This is definitely odd. So I move over to the sofa, grab a blanket and lie down to watch the rerun TV that The CW subjects us to during these hours (and also most of the weekend, I’m just sayin).

Nearly two hours, a Will & Grace episode and at least two Sex and the City reruns later, I am still on the sofa wondering when I’ll feel like heading off to dreamland.  Not being a sofa sleeper (I like to nap there in the afternoons, but not fall asleep there in the evenings), I even try making my already heavy eyelids close and actually stay shut, figuring sofa sleep is better than no sleep at all…since apparently my bed (my beloved, king-sized bed) is the last place I want to be.  It’s a no go. Sometime in the one o’clock hour I force myself to get in bed.  I drift off fairly quickly, but I think my aversion to heading to bed might have been that in between time–after you’re snuggled in and before you actually find your way into dreamland–because it’s at this moment I found myself purposely blanking out my mind. Something I am not prone to doing, but I guess it worked since sleep did come to me…but it was in fits as I was up every couple of hours.

So does that count as insomnia? Not wanting to go to bed in the first place? Or am I just avoiding thinking about something?

I mean, I am plenty stressed. TONS of things to overthink about. It could be work, there are multiple conferences coming up, and newly increased work-load with no increased salary or job title. It could be an uncomfortable silence coming out of Chicago. Hmmm, maybe I just have avoidance issues?

5 Comments leave one →
  1. quagmire @giggity.com permalink
    June 6, 2007 12:36 pm

    you need a little giggity to relax you.

  2. June 6, 2007 1:45 pm

    The “too tired to do anything useful but too awake to go to sleep” effect is quite common, but that doesn’t make it any less annoying.

    It is the hallmark of a distracted mind – just try a few different meditation techniques until you find one that works for you.

    My guess though is that you’re just fantasizing too much about strained quads, general man-butt, and having Peyton sign your mellons. Get you mind out of the gutter and you’ll be fine.

  3. June 6, 2007 1:45 pm

    giggity giggity…..giggity goo. Now get back to work 😉

    oh yea, and wasn’t it you looking for Women’s Triathlons etc? I found a few for ya.

    Email me for more info. Links aren’t at work.

  4. June 6, 2007 3:04 pm

    Happens to me all the time.

  5. June 6, 2007 5:54 pm

    Still? WTF is going on? Maybe you aren’t the one with avoidance issues. Just sayin’.

Leave a Reply

