Skip to content

54.2

June 1, 2007

So, the mileage is creeping up there. Yay.

Definitely a better showing than last month’s 40.39, I feel like actual progress has been made.  Which is good because I signed up for the New York marathon lottery, which means that sometime in July I will find out if I can run in the New York Marathon which means that I will now have to start training for a marathon…because it takes all of summer and all of fall to prepare for that shit.  So Friday nights out are off the table once again starting with tonight, have a 9-miler to hit in the morning.  Joy.

I also still need that back-up marathon to enter now in case I don’t get into NY.  Am thinking Marine Corps*, basically because I can sell my number later if need be. Anyone got any better ideas?

In other news, remember when I was complaining about Alan Schwartz of Baseball Today? Well, I got him fired.  I am probably lying about that, but he really is no longer the host of the show and I like to believe that I can wield that kind of power.  In his place they put in Peter Pascarelli, who took over the host position this past Tuesday.  Now, I’ll give him a pass for a while, seeing as he is new, but he really needs to learn not to “poof” his “p”s and “b”s on the mic. Tre annoying!  Also, Schwartz was freakin’ Chris Rock compared to Pascarelli who comes across like a CPA or a lawyer trying to make jokes, they just fall flat and sound ridiculously nerdy.  Let’s hope he finds a groove and relaxes a little, baseball is a long season.

*Please have better ideas, Marine Corps registration is closed now too.  Harumph.  I guess I can try ot pick up a bib number later in the summer if I don’t get into NY – MCM is one of the few races that does legal bib switches.  Guess I need to start thinking about smaller races…

9 Comments leave one →
  1. June 1, 2007 7:24 pm

    What happens if you just show up at the marathon and run without a bib? Will people chase you and arrest you or something?

    My very good livejournal friend Susimosco does one every year in memory of her sister. She is doing the one in Chicago this year.

    http://susimoscoso.livejournal.com/

  2. andrew permalink
    June 4, 2007 12:01 pm

    Nice post. I completely agree re: Pascarelli, and would note the excessive number of “um’s” and “ah’s” in his podcast. Have you heard any reason why Schwarz (who certainly annoyed me but was light years ahead of Pascarelli) was replaced?

  3. Christopher permalink
    June 4, 2007 2:47 pm

    I miss Schwartz! Pascarelli is not only dull, but today was the second day that he “flew solo” foisting upon us humble listeners a whole 15 minutes of his terribleness.

    Pascarelli seems less astute not only less entertaining that Schwartz… no more fun little “crystal ball game to boot”… ugh.

  4. trybritri permalink
    June 4, 2007 11:03 pm

    Good luck with NY Marathon. Sorry about the Marine. You can probably still find people that would give up their place.

    Just have to look on different sites and message boards. I’ve seen em from year to year

  5. June 5, 2007 9:42 am

    Whoops, she did chicago last year, this year it’s the Nike women’s marathon in San Francisco, that sounds right up your alley, you being a woman and all.

  6. June 5, 2007 11:47 am

    Luck – You can run w/o a bib, but then it would be possible for them to throw you out mid-race. Plus, once you’ve put in all that time and effort into training you sure as hell want that chip time next to your name.

    Andrew – No clue, Schwartz did Friday’s podcast and then the Tuesday after Memorial Day, Pascaralli said he was thenew host and Alan had moved on to bigger better things. I even tried to find a pick of Pascarelli or a note about the switch for this post and there was nothing.

    Chris – I never would have thought I would miss Schwartz, but oh how I do. Our man Peter is just so damn dull!

    Tri – Thanks, that’s probably what I’ll do. Fingers crossed that NYC lets me in though!

    Luck – I want to do that one, they give a Tiffany necklace to all the finishers!

  7. June 12, 2007 9:34 am

    Well, did you get in?

  8. Redbird Craig permalink
    June 20, 2007 1:23 pm

    I agree about Pascarelli. It’s odd, after his being one of my favorite guests on the Tony Kornheiser show because he was always Mr. Sarcastic and Mr. Skeptical, hearing him pimp the Baby Ruth game bar thing. He’s clearly uncomfortable in that role and would be much better as a guest or paired up with someone.

  9. June 21, 2007 11:57 am

    Christopher, Redbird and Andrew – OMG, Pascarrelli is SO not getting better.

    You nailed it Redbird, he was so great as a guest. I guess it’s just not translating for him.

Leave a Reply

