Skip to content

Speaking of mish-mashes

May 15, 2007

Debating again, not entirely convinced but almost there.

Do I train for another marathon?  If so, which one? I could enter the lottery for New York, but I won’t find out ’til late summer if I am in which means I would need a back up race. I am not interested in Marine Corps again. Chicago is sold out. Baltimore is open, but the weekend it falls in is desperately close to an international conference that may require my attendance.  Do I register anyway and suck it up if I don’t happen to get into NY?  What other fall marathons are out there that don’t require too much travel?  See, in Chicago and NY I would have a free place to stay. I don’t think I know anyone else I could bum a bed/couch from. Or do I just sign up for Marine Corps since it’s here in my back yard and I am guranteed at least a cheerleader or two? Plus I want one that does deferrments in case I get into NY…Baltimore only does medical deferrments which means I would eat two race fees in I did get into NY.  Ugh. I am boring myself with this discussion, but this is what’s going on in my head.

In baseball news, Sidney Ponson of the Twins was designated for assignment this weekend. Thank God! The bars and food establishments surrounding the Metrodome may feel a little less fat in the pockets now, but it’s really best for everyone that he go.  Perhaps the tides of Lake Superior won’t be so crazy anymore.

Joe Mauer has a strained quad. I’ve been sleeping quite restlessly these past few days.  Apparently the image of hot, strained quadriceps gets me a little worked up.

I have more Fiesta Salad for lunch today. Yum.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. quagmire @giggity.com permalink
    May 15, 2007 12:04 pm

    Um, I’m on PA Ave coming to steal your Fiesta Salad out of the fridge.

  2. sunchaser permalink
    May 15, 2007 12:12 pm

    Nike Women’s Marathon for Leukemia/Lymphoma Society – Oct 21.

    It’s in San Fran, but I’m sure you can get a direct flight from Dulles (joy)

  3. May 15, 2007 1:51 pm

    but the real question is, did you see the O’s get CRUSHED by my Red Sox in the bottom of the Ninth on Sunday?

    anyway, there are tons!! of marathons to train for. All over the area and country. Not just these two. Need websites? Email me.

    but to answer your question, hell yes train for another one.

  4. May 15, 2007 6:12 pm

    WHY did the Twins ever take Ponson?

  5. May 16, 2007 10:05 am

    To cater to their fat demographic.

  6. May 16, 2007 11:53 pm

    he’s so bad…it’s great

  7. May 17, 2007 8:12 am

    I hope to run my first next spring ish. I hope, if all goes well and the foot heals nicely. You are my inspiration!

  8. May 17, 2007 1:13 pm

    It’s sort hard to swallow that guys like Ponson and Jeff Weaver will be set for life pitching so horrendously for so long. They parlayed one or two solid years into huge contracts and haven’t done anything since. It seems unfair. I mean really, they suck. A lot.

    I think Baltimore is considered to be one of the more difficult marathons in the country, all lot of runners choose to skip it because of the conditions. Not sure if that factors into your decision but it might be a consideration.

Leave a Reply

