Skip to content

Slowpoke Rodriguez I’m not.

May 7, 2007

slowpoke.gifRace for Hope went awesomely.  The whole event raised over $1.2 million for brain tumors and brain cancer and the team I organized with folks from the office raised nearly $4,000.  It may even go over that since donations are being accepted through September.  More importantly, my race time didn’t comepltely suck.  I haven’t raced or even done a lick of speed work since last October, but I was still able to post a 27:31.  Under 9 minute miles.  Makes me feel hopeful for this Saturday’s Battle of the Boulevard 10K and any training I might get myself into this summer.

After taking it easy this weekend in prep for the race, no Cinco de Mayo celebrations for me, I decided to make up for lost (drinking) time after the race.  Meeting up for a lovely, sunny lunch at Georgetown’s Cafe Bonaparte yesterday with the soon to be departed Heather B. — we innocently decided to push our lunch into the standard dinner hours and beyond. For after a few glasses of wine over crepes it was determined that the breezy afternoon should not end.  And so it came to be that vodkas and Tuacas were imbibed  down the street and then again around the corner.  Apparently the thought of a dry weekend does not sit well with me.  Hell, seems the thought of a sober weekend doesn’t either.  Good thing surround myself with like-minded, liver-hating friends. 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 7, 2007 12:10 pm

    Good thing for us you’re not Slowpoke Rodriguez. If I remember my cartoons correctly, he carries a gun.

  2. May 7, 2007 2:51 pm

    I don’t remember slowpoke rodriguez carrying a gun at all.

    I remember him acting very drunk. I remember him singing a song that went “Porque no tiene casa” and saying “Buenos diaz senor gato.”

    He also had much more of a classical runners body than his cousin Speedy Gonzalez did. (Speedy was quite frankly a little chubby for his height)

  3. May 7, 2007 4:09 pm

    I think I was still drunk when I woke up this morning. And puffy eyed from all the damn crying. I swear it was the Tuaca that did it. And the lamest pick up artist EVER.

  4. May 8, 2007 12:01 am

    Yea, i’ve been encouraged to Increase my drinking, by outside sources.

    Glad your run went so well.

  5. May 8, 2007 8:43 am

    Read the wiki, he was indeed a pistolero.

  6. August 26, 2008 11:54 pm

    Check the Looney Tunes video for the episode “Mexican Boarders” – it is not alcohol Slowpoke Rodriguez sings about…

Leave a comment