Skip to content

Ingredients: Potatoes

April 27, 2007

I am running low on groceries, it’s been nearly three weeks since my last visit to the store and if you’ve ever seen my fridge, you know this is a very long time.

Last night as I rummaged through my kitchen to see what I could fix for dinner, I was able to find enough fresh and frozen ingredients to make my own version of Taco Salad.  Not counting the tomatoes and avocado, my most favorite part of  Taco Salad are the crushed tortilla chips to put on top (because if I count the tomatoes and avocado it would be a three-way tie and then we are not really talking about favorites, per se, are we? So let’s just leave those out and concentrate on the chips, ok?).  Specifically I like Trader Joe’s Spicy Soy and Flaxseed Tortilla Chips.  Well, last night’s dinner used all of my remaining chips, but I did have enough taco-style crumbles, salad mix, avocado, tomato, peppers, salsa and sour cream to make another salad for lunch today.  I figured I’d just run out a buy some subpar tortilla chips for lunch….becasuse it’s not really a Taco Salad without the tortilla chips, subpar or not.

<Cut to lunchtime today>

I head out to go buy my chips, but not being a fan of the Tostito, plain varietal of tortilla chip, I seek out something with flavor, oomph, pizzaz.  I come across MamaZuma’s Revenge Green Chile Enchilada chips. Yum. They sound pizzaz-y, so I drop $1.35 on them and head back to the office.

Heating up the taco mix, I chop and assemble the veggies in a bowl, pour on some salsa and sour cream and rip open my bag of chips.  GASP!  They are POTATO chips.  Not tortilla chips made of corn with midly spicy green chile seasoning coating their triangular shape–as I had imgained them to be. No, they were most decidedly POTATO chips, all round and curly and covered inappropriately in the yummy-should-be-on-a-corn-chip-green spice dust.  Damn you MamaZuma!  Revenge this!  “Revenge what?” I thought. I knew full well that I wasn’t going to head out of the office a second time. MamaZuma got me, she knew it and I knew it.  I ate my Taco Salad with crushed potato chips on top.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 27, 2007 12:59 pm

    Mama Zuma looks like a harlot.

  2. April 27, 2007 1:05 pm

    An evil, evil harlot with ridiculously large thighs.

  3. May 1, 2007 11:27 am

    I knew I loved you for a reason: I LOVE TJ’s spicy flaxseed and soy chips. Have you tried the veggie ones?

  4. May 8, 2007 5:47 pm

    I hear they’re mariachi music for your mouth.

Leave a Reply

