Skip to content

I’m stupid

April 9, 2007

No really, I am dumb…as in, not smart.

So I was having trouble deciding which dessert to bake and after reading comments and deciding that Buggie’s vote counted most, I settled on a lemon curd tart. I went to the store and bought lemons. Because, lo, lemon curd requires a lot of them.

01-lemons-no-flash.jpg

Upon returning home from the store I began the baking process, squeezing out over a cup of lemon juice and a 1/4 cup of lemon zest.  Seriously lemony stuff I am talking about here.

03-squeezing-lemons.jpg

Then, there is sugar, butter and eggs to add and whisking, lots of whisking.

05-curd.jpg


And what next you ask?  Well this is when I chop up the shortbread and ginger snap cookies to make the crust and as I get ready to bake said crust I realize that the specific pan used to bake this crust and eventual lemon confection, the unreplicatable springform pan,  is currently taking up residence at a friend’s place. So I curse myself (a hundred times over), eat spoonfulls of plain, fresh lemon curd and go to bed.

In the morning I asses the damage over a short run and decide to use nearly every ounce of chocolate in the house to make a chocolate cake on the fly.

After flouring the pans, I start chopping chocolate to melt over a double boiler.

10-chopped-chocolate.jpg

And now, not able to post any more photos (what up WordPres?), I end this stupid post.

But if you want to know how to make the easiest (seriously!) and perfectly tartly sweet lemon curd, here is the recipe:

INGREDIENTS:
3/4 cup fresh lemon juice + two tablespoons
1 tablespoon grated lemon zest  + two teaspoons
3/4 cup sugar
3 eggs
1/2 cup unsalted butter, cubed

DIRECTIONS:
In a 2 quart saucepan combine lemon juice, lemon zest, sugar, eggs and butter (adding each ingredient one at time and lightly whisking each egg until it is just incorporated before adding the next).  Cook over medium-low heat, whisking frequently but lightly, until sauce is thick enough to hold marks from the whist and the first bubbles appear on the surface–approx. 6 minutes.  Cook and whisk longer (up to four minutes) to make a thicker curd.  Chill.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. April 9, 2007 12:43 pm

    How far away is this friend that acquiring the pan was not possible/plausible?

  2. April 9, 2007 1:07 pm

    WordPress’s photographic constraints are the #1 reason I didn’t defect with the rest of y’all. In other news, the chocolate cake is ALWAYS a great Plan B. Good audible – Peyton would be proud. He’d even sign your lemons.

  3. hotjjesus permalink
    April 9, 2007 1:10 pm

    I see your post on April 4th and then the next two are about these desserts.

    Just noticing.

    – B

  4. April 9, 2007 3:03 pm

    Princess birthday cake is good!!

  5. April 9, 2007 3:18 pm

    i-66: It was far and late enough that procuring the pan was in fact, not possible.

    Hammer: First I’ve ever had trouble with the photos. Humph. But hahahahaaaaaaa, please have him come sign my lemons. I have two left over (for real).

    hotjesus: You are right, I should stop baking and focus on my running. I’ll never get to where I was last year unless I stop baking.

    Bug: I hope the office enjoyed it!!

  6. April 9, 2007 6:49 pm

    Yummo- lemon curd!
    I enjoyed pink frosted chocolate cake very much, though. Anything the color of Peeps is fine with me!

Leave a Reply

