Skip to content

Recouping

March 23, 2007

Outside of allergies, I don’t get sick very often (although I do feel as if I’ve had more than my share of sickness these past few months). Normally, I fall ill in a cyclical pattern that happens to coincide with my two biggest work events, once of which just ended last weekend.  I dub these illnesses “stress-sickness” because they are so obviously stress induced. Anyway, I returned home from one of these stressy work events last week tired and without much a voice, but otherwise feeling fine.  I celebrated my wellness on Monday, cheering in a cracking, husky voice that I had escaped my stress-sickness this year to all that would listen.  And just like that, The Gods struck me down with a coughy, snotty, headachy sickness ever so similar to the thing I call stress-sickness, the one that only hits me just before or during the aforementioned work events.  “But, I’m home!” I husked* to The Gods. “This isn’t how it works!”.  The Gods payed no attention to my crackly cries and left me hacking and snotting all over the place.  So I resigned myself to being sick and after some thought realized it wasn’t that bad of a deal.  I am home.  Which means, I can stay home and take care of myself instead of working 14-hour days. 

So that is what I did. I took a sick day. A sick day! A day for sickness!  And I stayed home and slept in and watched Ellen and stayed in my pj’s and didn’t shower and quickly came to the realization that I had absolutely no nourishment in my house whatsoever. The refrigerator and cupboards had been neglected for weeks upon weeks. One can not have a proper sick day without proper nourishment, you know, like popsicles. So I drag my scraggly, hacking self out to the car to go procure said nourishment and as I climb into the car and turn the key…nothing happens.  It’s dead. The car battery.  I quickly check the lights. Yup. Left ’em on.  Probably because the last time I was in the car I was deathly tired and just starting to feel sick and was trying to get to my bed and into my pajamas as quickly as possible and since my broken-down car’s idiot-beep is broken (“Beep! Your lights are on! Beep! Idiot! Your lights are on! Beep! Idiot!”), I didn’t take notice when I exited said broken-down vehicle.  So, there was no nourishment, just a few tears and a sulky walk back to the condo where I drowned my sorrows in 6-month old tater tots covered in spicy mustard and applesauce.  No, not at the same time people, ew! that would be gross. Tater tots and then applesauce for dessert. 

Anyway, my car is still dead and I am oh so low on nourishment…help!

*I do realize that “to husk” is not a verb nor even a word at all, but if you can imagine the husky crackling of a lost voice, then that would be exactly how I yelled to The Gods.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 24, 2007 2:30 am

    oh no! sounds like you’re going down a dangerous road with not having the body’s building blocks in-house.

    But don’t be so down on tator tots and applesauce. I’d loooovveee some of that right now!

  2. March 24, 2007 2:30 am

    sorry to hear your car is sucking it =(

  3. March 24, 2007 6:32 pm

    Oh, my stupid as car beep doesn’t work either. TWICE now my battery has died because my car did not do what it was SUPPOSED to and let me know my lights were on. I’ll take you to the store for popsicles if need be. (Check out all my CAPS!!!)

  4. March 26, 2007 8:39 am

    Your RdMffn II is telling you that it’s seen better days and is begging for a good euthanizing.

    Aren’t you ready to get a RdMffn III now anyways? Mine’s overheating again in traffic so I’m on the verge of either replacing a stoopid fan motor relay yet again or getting a new one. I’m leaning on new one. I like new sparkely things.

    Welcome back!

  5. March 26, 2007 12:19 pm

    b – it would have been better if the tater tots were not so freaking feezer burned…didn’t matter though, I just used them as a vehicle for the spicy mustard.

    LR – yeah, what is it with the idiot signals not working? It’s not like I got smarter and no longer require it’s services.

    Cluss – Shhhh! I need that car. No funds for sparkly and new 😦

Leave a Reply

