Skip to content

Watch out for that tree!

March 2, 2007

dont-walk.jpgAnd by “tree”, I mean bus…more specifically, Metro bus.

So this morning as I was waiting to cross the street on my way to work, a woman started out into what appeared to be an un-busy street.  She had the don’t-walk signal, but this is a narrow street and walkers frequently cross when the way is clear…even on red.  Thing is, the right-turn arrow was green. Meaning traffic was coming from behind us, rather quickly, trying to make the turn onto 20th Street before the light changed–traffic including cars, delivery vans, trucks and yes, Metro busses. 

The woman, seeing no traffic coming from up 20th Street (but not looking behind her to see what was coming from Eye), stepped into the street and was nearly halfway across when I found myself wanting to yell out “BUS! LOOK OUT!”– for coming from right behind me was a Metro bus, barreling down on her to make the turn onto 20th. Normally I don’t find the need or want to protect strangers from undo harm in my morning, uncaffeinated state. But in light of recent events (and by “events”, I mean deaths…more specifically, death by Metro bus), I was terrified.  She spotted the bus and with a scoff and a roll of her eye, she stepped back into the safety-ish area of the shoulder.  Doesn’t she read the news?  I am totally scared of Metro busses as I walk these streets and would never roll my eyes at them, especially when they have the right of way.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2007 1:47 pm

    I never really noticed how many pedestrians seem to believe that they’re invincible until I was in New York in December. People crossing on the green, or waiting and starting to cross as the light turns yellow (which you could argue can be more dangerous than on the green because cars actually speed up to make a yellow), and all without a hesitation to step into traffic.

    When I got back here I began to notice how people do it here, especially around K street where people will walk onto the median between K and the service-roady thing, despite the fact that cars on the green can just as easily turn onto the side road without so much as a signal at regular speeds.

    To be honest, I’m surprised there aren’t more incidents where pedestrians are struck by vehicles.

  2. Peyton still sucks permalink
    March 2, 2007 2:31 pm

    Maybe she was running to Five Guys. Hmmmmm Five guys…..

  3. March 2, 2007 4:35 pm

    Well….NY and D.C. transit/sidewalks are completely different animals. (Well….not completely different….more like a raccon and a panda.)

    Anyhoo…I wouldn’t really compare pedestrians and traffic behavior in the two cities.

    That said, I think D.C. Metro bus drivers are the most insane drivers I have seen ANYWHERE. (Granted, I have not been to India.) Metro Bus drivers are a serious threat to pedestrians, cars, vans, trucks, OTHER METRO BUSSES, and small furry and avian animals of all kinds.

  4. March 4, 2007 9:45 pm

    They’re involved in seven accidents a day, statistics say

  5. March 4, 2007 9:46 pm

    and by stats, I mean Fox News

Leave a Reply

