Skip to content

Ow

February 27, 2007

So I can’t breathe.  Or rather, I can’t breathe comfortably.  Well, ok, I can’t take large breaths without pain.

See, two Sunday’s ago I took myself out for a run (because you know how I feel about the treadmill) thinking that the ice from Valentine’s day had vanished into the not freezing air we had enjoyed the day before.  I am out. I am running. I am feeling good.  Then I come to a sidewalk in Arlington where apparently the sun don’t shine because it was snow banky and icy and ice snowy banky…or basically a big pile of crap to try to run on.  I came upon this pile of crap (in the figurative sense) at mile 2 of my four mile run, and it (the big pile of crap/ice) did not end until I was three blocks from home.

So I am taking it easy, walking when necessary and shuffling along on parts that are not icy. Then, bam!  I step onto a snow bank that so slick I can’t keep my footing and after a few seconds of trying to “ski it out” I succumb and bite it.  No big deal, as my friends will attest, I fall down with semi-frequency while out running (maybe I should stay on the treadmill?). I get up and go on my way and head on home (never mind that at the end of the run I was hitting all those snow squalls that were in the area last week, nothing like a 10 minute blizzard to keep you on your toes).

When I got home I noticed that I had banged my knee pretty good on the ice, but again no big deal…I’ve done that before, so long as the bruise heals before I get to Boca and don my short skirts, I am fine.  What is a big deal is the searing knot of pain in my back that manifested itself upon waking the next day.  I don’t have back issues so I can only attribute this to my fall.  After realizing that it wasn’t going to go away on it’s own I popped some pain killers, took a couple yoga classes and things were better…until now. 

A week later, and it doesn’t hurt me on a consistent basis, just when I take deep breaths, sneeze, yawn or anything like that. It’s like someone is behind me stabbing me in the back.  It’s gotten to the point where I wince before I yawn or breathe deeply. No amount of stretching seems to help. I have a yoga class tonight so I am hoping that might work it out (third time’s the charm?) but outside of that I am out of ideas.

Ow.

Help.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Peyton still sucks permalink
    February 27, 2007 2:16 pm

    2 solutions:

    1) Go get some muscle relaxers from the Dr and sleep for a week

    B) Do a Sprint commercial and let the world hate you.

  2. Peyton still sucks permalink
    February 27, 2007 2:17 pm

    and yes I am having a slow weak. Reading your blog is the only thing I have to do 😦

  3. February 27, 2007 3:30 pm

    The only time I experienced anything of this sort was when I (believe I) pulled a muscle in my back. Everything hurt, breathing, moving, yawning, but I just steadily dosed myself with tylenol and dealt with it – not the wisest course of action in hindsight. I don’t think you’ve done something of that sort as you probably would know when it happened if you’d done that.

    That said, if it ceases to fade, I’d recommend a professional diagnosis. Various exercise only appears to be a temporary solution.

  4. February 27, 2007 4:14 pm

    you don’t have any blemishes on your torso do you?

  5. February 27, 2007 4:17 pm

    Oh, if it is your back muscles, you know what helps? Just hang from a chin up bar for as long as you can.

  6. February 27, 2007 5:36 pm

    Peyton sucks – Boo! Drugs! I can barely handle OTC allergy meds much less prescription muscle relaxers. Also, I am sorry that this is your only diversion. Gah! The pressure.

    I-66 – No. Shit it took me a month before I went to the doctor for my calf pull (oops, tear)…this ain’t nearly as bad. Sigh. Wince.

    Luckster – Uh, no blemishes. Why? And I’ve tried traction, no luck. Well temporary relief, but now it’s back!

  7. February 27, 2007 8:48 pm

    Geez! I hope you’re OK!

  8. February 27, 2007 9:23 pm

    I know you’re a stubborn banana, but some things are necessary, dear.

  9. February 28, 2007 8:43 am

    Those symptoms sound like a partially collapsed lung (pneumothorax). When I was in my late teens and early 20s that happened to my left lung several times. The first few times the problem went away within hours without any intervention, but when one lingered for a week or so like yours, I went to the doctor. They gave me a chest x-ray and made the diagnosis. In my case, it happened spontaneously every time. It might not even be directly related to your fall.

  10. February 28, 2007 12:35 pm

    DCSC – Oh, I am fine. Just whiny and tired of the wincing.

    i-66 – Stubborn? STUBBORN!

    WFY – Oh wow. That sounds serious. And makes me feel a little hypochondriacal…

    Yoga made me feel better, but it’s still there. I guess I keep going to yoga until it’s gone?

  11. February 28, 2007 12:44 pm

    Stubborn.

Leave a Reply

