Skip to content

Like a greased pig?

February 21, 2007

I wonder if it’s just me or perhaps just every single pair of shoes I walk to and from work in, because it seems that the combination of ice, snow, dirt, salt, deicer and Metro’s not-yet-but-soon-to-be-defunct-octagonal tile floors make for one greasy surface.

Since the onset of precipitation last week, walking along the Metro platforms has been akin to walking in a Bennigan’s kitchen–slimy, with nary a foothold in sight due to the thick byproduct of fried hydrogenated oils that eventually makes its way to settle beneath one’s feet. 

I swear I am going to pull my damn calf again trying to get some traction walking along the platforms. 

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 21, 2007 1:41 pm

    Perhaps it’s better compared to slipping on a banana peel.

  2. BabyBanana permalink
    February 21, 2007 5:33 pm

    No, actually, I feel that slipping on a banana peel would be more pratfallish while scurring around on a greasy floor is more like bad ice skating…

  3. February 22, 2007 10:23 am

    bad ice skating [n]: the only kind of ice skating I do

  4. February 23, 2007 11:28 am

    awww Bennigan’s, funny that you remember that floor so well, can you believe I used to work back there all the time, no wonder Managers were scared when I got prego to have me back there!!! BE SAFE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  5. February 26, 2007 10:51 am

    Wow….it’s been a while since I was a daily commuter on the metro, but I remember the tile did really really suck.

    Then again…..going to work in the city really sucked too….so there ye’ go.

Leave a Reply

