Skip to content

Bitterness is best served…as 70% cocoa

February 14, 2007

gummyheart.jpg

I am generally not one for the over-the-topness of Hallmark holidays, but I do usually like to relish in the “cheese factor” of Valentine’s Day.  This year I wasn’t into it.  Not anti, just indifferent maybe with the tiniest twinge of bitter.  I didn’t send funny, retro, homemade or even semi-inappropriate cards to my friends nor stock up on the litany of cutesy candy being offered at practically every retail outlet (except I did break down and buy heart-shaped Junior Mints.  Junior mints! Shaped as hearts! Some with red, yes RED! mint!).  

My indifference took an up tick towards giddiness when I heard a commotion at the office door this morning, and watched as the women I work with sulk off, one by one, muttering “they’re for you” as they passed my desk. 

“What’s for me?”

“The flowers.”

Thinking it was all some misunderstanding, because it’s been years since I received flowers at work (and those were at first a mystery and then unwanted), I made my way to the reception area where, lo, I was met with a most gorgeous bouquet of flowers.  Still thinking that it was some sort of mistake…that maybe they were really for Batty Banana and not Baby Banana…I looked for a card and confirmed that they were mine–orange and white tulips, orange Asiatic lilies and matching Peruvian lilies. All for me and not a rose in sight.

Sigh.  I guess I am a sucker.

He’s not allowed to make me like him, not like this, not right now.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. February 14, 2007 1:58 pm

    “He’s not allowed to make me like him, not like this, not right now.”

    Agreed…but you should enjoy the flowers nonetheless!

  2. February 14, 2007 2:02 pm

    show off.

  3. February 14, 2007 2:20 pm

    That’s great! And they sound so beautiful. 🙂

  4. February 14, 2007 2:53 pm

    I’m glad you liked ’em. Picked ’em special for you in hopes of a warm reception on Saturday.

    I love flowers, never will I not want any, heck, even when I die, I get flowers. Ok, morbid but seriously. Don’t you feel all sorts of special now? That’s the best… Did the card say anything fun? Suggestive? Romantic? Anything?

  5. Harmony permalink
    February 14, 2007 3:52 pm

    Awwwww, so nice, and they sound beautiful!!! Are we going to get a picture? and like Cluss said fill us in on the details!!!

  6. February 14, 2007 4:15 pm

    Collective Awwwww! And hee hee to “Batty Banana.” That’s awesome.

  7. February 15, 2007 10:30 am

    beatin’ to the punch, I echo what Velvet said.

    Though, I agree with the “not anti, but not into it” standpoint…basically each and every year

  8. Sharkbait permalink
    February 15, 2007 12:13 pm

    Aww yay!

    PS nice kisses 😉

Leave a Reply

