Skip to content

Baby it’s cold outside

February 9, 2007

But you don’t feel it so badly when you’re running in it. No really. It’s actualy quite refreshing, even if you can’t feel your thighs.

This morning marked my second run in the outdoors since the marathon-induced injury.  It was just three miles and change, but it felt so good.  I’ve done a grand total of twelve miles in three weeks.  Not record breaking mileage by any means (well maybe I’ve broken the record for least amount of mileage logged in that span) but it feels good to be trying to get back into it.  S-l-o-w-l-y. The calf is still stiff and today it’s even a little sore, which says to me that maybe I am not doing this slow enough. Augh. I don’t know if I can go any slower.

Maybe taking the run outside was too big of a step (sidewalks and pavement are torture for your joints and muscles)…if I decide I am up for my scheduled three miler on Sunday, I guess it’s the treadmill for me.  I just can’t stand it. All I do is watch the mileage click by with every turn of each and every hundredth of a mile.  It’s torture and it makes a 30 minute run seem like 8 hours, even with cable television and an iPod.  Put me outside and I can run for hours and hours. 

Don’t worry, I don’t understand the logic on that one either.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. February 9, 2007 8:37 pm

    Your girl here is a chicken $%^* when it comes to running in the cold (anything under 50 is not for me sista) so much props to you and respect for going out there and hitting some milestones. I don’t know what I’m going to do about the half marathon next month cuz all I’m doing is training at the gym, no outdoor running for me. Brrrr… You are a champ, I am a chimp?

    Love you!

  2. February 11, 2007 7:19 pm

    You do realize you can put a towel or something over the machine so you can’t watch the time go by?? Right??

    The other day I had the best run ever while watching the Hills between staring at the machine. Yeah I don’t know why I stared, but then it felt good to see all that time go by and yet I wasn’t dead.

  3. February 12, 2007 12:15 pm

    Cluss – You are the champ and I am the chip when it comes to treadmill running though. I can’t stand it. I like running in the cold. I think it’s because it requires special gear. Cool running gloves, a fitted fleece vest, running tights with extra material and venting in all the right places, my cool Under Armor shirt that has fold over cuffs that act as mittens.

    But Heather I know what those stupid numbers are doing under the towel. If I cover the display then I just obsess over what’s happening under there. I can’t take my mind off thsoie numbers. Outside, there are no numbers (at lease none that are ticking away…)

  4. February 13, 2007 1:27 pm

    better to run in cold than in 96 degrees. or maybe that’s just me

  5. February 13, 2007 9:49 pm

    I feel your pain– I totally can’t run on the treadmill. Not that I’m so great at running outside these days, but there was a time when I could jog outside for two hours at a time and not get too bored. On the other hand, ten minutes on the treadmill and I’m ready to scratch my own eyes out.

    Kudos to you for getting outside at all! Yay!

Leave a Reply

