Skip to content

A little humor goes a long way

January 29, 2007

metro-boardingtrain.jpg

For this morning’s Orange Line Metro operator –

Thank you for your humor and wit during this morning’s commute. I, along with most riding in my car, found it most refreshing. Your light-hearted instructional seminar on How to Best Board and Alight During the Morning Commute was quite helpful – even if these things seem obvious, common sense is often lost on the D.C.-area morning commuters. Your repeated instructions and praise after each stop help to cut through the morning fog and really get to the heart of things – the faster everyone gets out of the way, the faster people can alight and the faster we can move on to the next station. Of course, you said it better than I. The highlight of the trip came as we were pulling into Farragut West and you announced “The time now is 8:58 a.m.” and then in a whisper “that means you still have time to grab a coffee. Enjoy your morning.”

Enjoy it, I did.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2007 6:25 pm

    Reminded me of long ago when I used to Metro to get to work. The red line operator said, “the time is now 8:12, those of you who needed to be at work at 8 are now officially late.”

  2. January 29, 2007 6:26 pm

    I adore that guy! One morning, while stuck in a tunnel he tried to get the whole train into “I think I can, I think I can” so we could get to the platform. A little humor really does go a long way:-)

  3. January 29, 2007 6:27 pm

    I had him as a driver a few times! He is absolutely the best. I tried to remember the train number to call Metro and rave about him, but I had forgotten! He is so great and that is such a good way to start the day.

  4. Marci permalink
    January 29, 2007 6:27 pm

    Wicked – I love it. Any humor posed by Metro employees is greatly appreciated in my book.

    Law-rah – I haven’t heard him in ages, not since I was on the blue line!

    Mapster – I know, I was too stupid to find out who he was–it’s so much better when you have to call to rave vs. call to complain.

  5. January 31, 2007 1:17 pm

    That’s great– that kind of thing can make your morning. I need those kind of reminders so I don’t just complain about everything. 🙂

Leave a Reply

