Skip to content

T-minus 7 days and counting…

January 23, 2007

naples1.jpg7 more days before I can try a little run. If anyone has noticed, that is 6 weeks since my last attempt and 13 weeks since my last run of any significance (you know, that pesky, calf-injuring Marine Corps Marathon).

This is bittersweet news since…yay, 7 days! I can totally handle that! But, BOO! For in just one day I’ll be on the hard, white sandy beaches of Naples, FL without being able to do anything but walk on them–and they are just so gosh-darned-perfect for running, that doing anything but is practically a crime. So feel for me, and my non-running feet, as I meander along the warm beaches of Florida’s Gulf Coast this week. I even think there is one day of my trip with a forecast of “Party Cloudy” Oh! The horror!

Too bad we’ve had such mild weather this winter otherwise I’d be able to milk this for even more jealousy-inspired comments/

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2007 6:20 pm

    Grr.

  2. January 29, 2007 6:20 pm

    I’m so addicted to running that having a cold and being out of it for a couple weeks is pissing me off. I can only imagine how you feel. And thanks, watching you in the M.C. Marathon pushed me up permanently to 3.5 miles. You rock.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    January 29, 2007 6:20 pm

    Telling everyone you are going to the beach is such a Payton Manning move.

  4. January 29, 2007 6:21 pm

    Yo quiero… beach!

    ((voice trailing)) yo quiero

  5. Marci permalink
    January 29, 2007 6:22 pm

    i-66 – I am glad you obliged me my jealousy.

    Velvet – That is amazing to me, I am so proud of you. You’ll be hitting 10Ks before long!

    Anon – In a “your my favorite accountant” kind of way or in an “I call audibles on my audibles” kind of way?

    Cluss- I’ll take a photo for you?

  6. January 29, 2007 6:22 pm

    Photo’s not good enough, cute Cuban cabana boy, jar of sand and kiddy pool full of clear Southern FL ocean water would make me not grumble though. Bring all to happy hour next week?

    Great. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

