Skip to content

No time for losers

January 22, 2007

What awesome conference championship games yesterday!

Grossman proved what everyone has been saying for the past 5 weeks. He doesn’t have to be good for the Bears to win, he just has to not suck. And not suck he did, to the tune of zero interceptions and 11 for 26 completed passes. Not great, but good enough for a strong win over the Saints. I thought the Bears were going to lose it there in the 3rd quarter. But they pretty much sealed the deal after the safety.

Manning finally proved he can win in the post-season, because apparently winning one game (last week) in the post season didn’t count. So he went out there yesterday, got down early and brought it back around for the biggest comeback in conference-title game history. The pressure’s on you now Eli.

Now, all of my post-season, love-drunk rooting aside (I actually rooted for the Bears, a division rival!) I’m gonna keep it real for Feb.4 and say…

…come on Manning, Dungy and the Colts deserve this. Go Indy!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2007 6:15 pm

    I came thisclose to sending you a text message yesterday around noon to ask who you were rooting for in the NFC title game.

    It seems the only people who were rooting for Chicago were Bears fans, and that everyone else was pulling for New Orleans – and I was one of the latter. I had a funny feeling you were rooting for the Bears, so I put the phone down.

    It’s good to see that you’re on the proper track for the Super Bowl though. I rooted for Indy yesterday and will root for them in 2 weeks (seriously NFL, the extra week isn’t necessary), and even though I’m not rooting for Chicago, the Super Bowl Shuffle can still bring me enjoyment. Especially Gary Fencik, who kindasorta came across as um sexually questionable.

  2. January 29, 2007 6:15 pm

    No, your rooting interests are mosguided. Peyton Manning can only suffer. I hate Manning…I hate his face, I hate his commercials, and I hate his family.

    Dan Marino went to one super bowl also, and he has no rings. I can only hope Manning suffers the same fate.

  3. Anonymous permalink
    January 29, 2007 6:16 pm

    The Sprint commercial is the worst.

    I only hope the bring back DA BEARS to SNL

  4. Marci permalink
    January 29, 2007 6:16 pm

    i-66 – I actually didn’t know who I was going to root for in the Bears/Saints game until game time. It just kind of came out that I was all for the Bears once it started. But I must say, that I won’t be terribly upset if the Bears turn the tables on Indy.

    El Capitan – You are right, the Manning boys are not attrative by any means and as Anon says, that Sprint commercial is pretty dumb. But…can you sign my melon?

    C’mon! I LOVE that. The man has got comedic timing. No QB since Namath (think pantyhose wearing Namath, and not “I want to kiss you” Namath) has been so naturally funny hawking product.

  5. January 29, 2007 6:16 pm

    Congratulations Marci, Minnesota ranked 18th out of 32.

  6. January 29, 2007 6:17 pm

    DE-CAF! [thump thump] DE-CAF!

  7. January 29, 2007 6:19 pm

    What is with all the Manning hate?

    or maybe I’m just a little too obsessed.

    Eh, whatever. Go Peyton.

Leave a Reply

