Skip to content

Contrary to popular belief, I am not dead.

December 11, 2006

Sorry to disappoint. Vacationing in Chicago is lovely. I highly recommend it. If you go this time of year though, bring warm things. Seriously though, it was all so nice and wonderful and not sucky. Well not having internet did suck for my fantasy football standings (Delhomme is hurt! C. Taylor is out!? Shockey caught a TD pass!), but other than that, it was super! Really, really super. I do feel a bit out of it now, being away for two weeks does things to your brain. For example, I’ve forgotten how to do anything that doesn’t involve sitting in a coffee shop for three hours. It’s slipped my mind as to what is necessary to remove oneself from the bed upon awakening in under an hour’s time. I am horribly overdressed for the weather in my thick, tweed skirt and wool tights and a wool sweater over a collared shirt, all wrapped in a pashima and covered with a wool coat. Yeah, Marci, it’s not single digits outside, lose some of the sheep sister. Now that I am home, it’s discerning to see that not everything is coated in a dusting of snow or ice. When I got in my car for the first time in two weeks this past weekend, I mistook the dust and grime covering my vehicle for solidified wintry precipitation–that is until I tried to remove it. I mean, imagine a world where it snows one day and a week later, the snow is still there! Not melted away into the gutters, but still clinging to trees and window sills! It’s amazing. I am finding that my computer screen is far less festive than the countless markets and shops I spent my days in last week…although I’ve tried to remedy that just a bit by changing my wallpaper to this festive photo that I snapped at the Chriskindl Market. Yes, the sign says “Modern Art Balls”. Heh, balls. Soldier field, too, is a magical place. It was my first time visiting the storied stadium two Sunday’s ago and all that talk about how the remodeling it under went stole the spirit of the stadium is crap. It’s a great stadium. Jam packed of people rooting for Da Bears–all with unobstructed seating (unlike some stadiums). Unless, you count shirtless men as obstructions…yes faithful fans, sans tops, were spotted gleefully cheering on Da Bears in 19 degree weather. Not to mention the 3 inches of ice most of us were standing on for the duration of the game, which proved even too much for my toes wrapped in faux fur-lined boots and two pairs of socks. I’d do it all again though, that is how you are supposed to watch football afterall…outdoors and freezing your ass off drinking beer slushies. Yes, even our beers got in on the chilly fun, forming ice crystals after just a few sips. So, I am back. It’s not cold. There are no skyscrapers. It’s two weeks before Christmas and I feel like it was just Thanksgiving…hell it was Thanksgiving when I left…anyone have any turkey or pumpkin pie leftovers?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 18, 2007 12:27 pm

    I think there actually may be leftover pumpkin pie in the refrigerator.

    If you really want it, I am sure my roommates will not miss it.

  2. Marci permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:28 pm

    I haven’t had any pumpkin pie this season at all…

    …I wonder if my skeeve meter would win out over my taste for pie in this scenario?

  3. Phil permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:28 pm

    Marci – it sounds disgusting. I would politely decline.

  4. Heather B. permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:29 pm

    I expect full details of your apparently lovely trip.

    😉

  5. Marci permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:29 pm

    Phil – What? Two-week old pie sitting in the fridge of a bachelor pad full of gross boys? What’s disgusting about that?

    Heather – What are you doing Saturday afternoon? Nevermind, I’ll email you…

  6. haveyouseenlucky permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:29 pm

    So whom did the Bears play and what was the outcome anyhow?

    (did your tears freeze to your face?)

  7. law-ruh permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:30 pm

    “Soldier field, too, is a magical place…”

    Uh-huh;-)

  8. Marci permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:30 pm

    Lucky – yeah, yeah the Vikings lost. I didn’t think they’d win against them. I had hope, but alas it was just a nice, cold time to take in a great ball game. Plus it was fun seeing Rex suck to the tune of 1.3

    Law-Ruh – It is! Especially if you like footbal!!!

  9. i-66 permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:30 pm

    Um… who says we’re gross? There’s slightly less than ¼ a pie left…

  10. mystergirl! permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:31 pm

    Great pictures! It sounds like you had a nice trip.

    I get to go back to Chicago to see the Bears the weekend of Jan 13/14 (don’t know which day they’ll be playing yet)– v. excited!

  11. Velvet permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:31 pm

    I’ll make you a pumpkin pie just for being alive. Phew.

    Hey – is that first picture taken outside the Today Sponge HQ?

  12. Marci permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:31 pm

    Mystery – OOOoh, you ahve Bears playoff tickets? I have never been to an NFL playoff game. How freaking cool!

    Velvet – Holding you to it! Don’t tease me with pie girl. And, HA! Today Sponge. That is the bean. It’s actually very cool. Especially on a cloudless day…it relfects the whole city back at you.

  13. dcsportschick permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:32 pm

    Brrr. That Bears game sounds COLD. I was meeting with a chief of police in North Chicago and he said that he and his wife bought fur coats to wear to the games- after hearing about the ice crystals in the beer, I can understand why. How do people take the cold weather?

    Glad you had a great time!

  14. mappyb permalink
    January 18, 2007 12:32 pm

    Yeah! I go home a week from today!!! I can’t wait to be somewhere where the weather matches the date on the calendar! 🙂 I’m glad you had a great time!

Leave a Reply

