Skip to content

Yeah, that’s it…right there

November 15, 2006

Ok Hammer, this one’s for you…

Domination is not happening so much for me any more by way of Fantasy Blogball or even in my “we do it for money” fantasy league. I still feel as though I am in it, I mean all you need to do is make the playoffs to be a contender, right? But I’ve been dealing with what you would call a Quarterback Situation in the Fantasy Blogball. My two drafted QBs were Duante Culpepper and Trent Green. Yeah. Overall though, I don’t think I am doing too bad considering my biggest point getter is my kicker. My Kicker! But that’s how fantasy football is played these days, just ask Bill Simmons.

Speaking of defunct quarterbacks…do you realize how many teams are currently starting a QB who was not the starter at the beginning of the season?

Chiefs – Started with Trent Green / Now playing Damon Huard
Dolphins – Started with Duante Culpepper / Now playing Joey Harrington
Jaguars – Started with Byron Leftwich / Now playing David Garrad
Cowboys – Started with Drew Bledsoe / Now playing Tony Romo
Raiders – Started with Aaron Brooks / Now playing Andrew Walter
Titans – Started with Kerry Collins / Now playing Vince Young
Cardinals – Started with Kurt Warner / Now playing Matt Leinhart
49ers – Started with Ken Dorsey/ Went to Cody Pickett / Then to Tim Rattay / Now it looks like they are going back to playing Ken Dorsey? *
Seahawks – Started with Hasselbeck / Now playing Seneca Wallace
Redskins – Started with Mark Brunell / Now playing Jason Campbell

Did I forget anyone? This has got to be unprecedented, right? I mean that is nearly a third of the league! To be fair Green and Hasselbeck should be back this week or next…but man! Craziness.

*CORRECTION
See the comment section for my snotty excuse for getting this wrong and then wrong again. But the 49ers haven’t had a QB controvery this season, it’s the Buccaneers I am thinking of. They started with Chris Simms and are now playing Bruce Gradowski.
Apologies to my friend D-Mac who was highly offended by my glaring mistake and oversight.

11 Comments leave one →
  1. November 15, 2006 8:05 pm

    The 49ers have been with Alex Smith from day one, my dear. And I’m pretty sure neither Rattay (Tampa?) nor Dorsey (Cleveland?) are with the team anymore.

  2. November 15, 2006 10:04 pm

    Thanks for the update! (Is this a bad time to tell you I’m in first place in my 12-team league of old roommates? I drafted well for a change, and I jumped on the Colston bandwagon first.)

    LOVE me some Colston!

    We’ve escalated to Photoshop smacktalk comments in my league, which makes me shudder to think what would happen if I was playing blogball this year along with Phil. I’m sure a great many lines would be crossed.

    Oh, and is that I-66 all the way down in last place? Now THAT is embarrassing! No wonder he’s been so quiet on the subject.

  3. November 16, 2006 8:43 am

    What must I suck so bad! in this league?

    –sigh–

  4. November 16, 2006 8:52 am

    I think the 49ers qb situation you described was actually 2 years ago. Just goes to show that no one cares about the 49ers anymore.

  5. November 16, 2006 12:23 pm

    See, I knew that list wasn’t right!!! That’s why I asked if I missed anyone. I had gone over this with a friend a few days ago and we came up with 10 teams. I got to 9 on my list and couldn’t think of the last one. I thought The 49ers suck, it must be them. So in a snot-clogged, over-worked, super stressed fashion I did a quick Google search to see if it was them. Saw an article confirming it all and went with it. Wrong year. Oops.

    It’s the Bucs that was the 10th team. Phil Simms started and currently Bruce Gradkowski is at the healm.

    i-66 – I hate being sick.

    Hammer – I am not sweating your first place. Like I said, all I need to do is make the playoffs.

    Needs – You’re not sucking as bad as i-66!

    Eric – It’s true, they are but a shell of their former selves. Hence the reason my mind went to them when pressed for an example ineffectualness.

  6. November 16, 2006 12:51 pm

    Chris Simms.

  7. November 16, 2006 12:52 pm

    And, ahem… I’m still the champion until a new one is crowned. Sadly, I probably won’t have anything to do with the actual crowning, but yeah.

  8. November 16, 2006 1:04 pm

    It’s the sssnnnnnnooooootttttt!

    My teeny thoughts can’t push through it with any semblance of coherence.

  9. November 16, 2006 3:02 pm

    My lead keeps shrinking… I hope I can limp into the playoffs…

  10. November 21, 2006 9:22 am

    Add Donovan McNabb to the list.

    Kenny Rogers All Stars Rule!!!!

  11. November 21, 2006 6:57 pm

    I delight in losing. I think it’s funny that I keep losing by 4-point margins.

    Gotta love the Colston bandwagon! Woo! (hope he gets better soon though) 😦

Leave a Reply

