Skip to content

Ooh la la, aren’t you the charming one?

November 13, 2006

I totally wined and dined myself yesterday. And if I were one to put out on a first date, I totally would have given it up to myself, because hot damn I am a superb wooer.

I woke yesterday excited (not that kind of excited you pervs) because it was to be my first run since the marathon. Testing out the hip and the calf, I went out in the wind and the rain for a little 3-miler. And had to turn back and walk home after just one mile. There was just too much pain. Not that it was excruciating pain, but it was too much pain to be having after a two-week rest period. Physical therapy here I come. Ugh.

So, to make myself feel better after having to walk home in the cold, wind and rain (running in that is one thing, walking in it just plain sucks) I made myself a kick ass breakfast of eggs stuffed with baby spinach and chevre. So yummy. And it worked, I totally felt better about my day. So good in fact I decided to go out and get some errands done before Sunday’s games really got underway.

And as I was running errands, I stopped and bought myself a large, tasty bowl of tomato basil soup. At this point my mouth is really starting to fall for me. So I lug it (my mouth) on over to the grocery store where I load up on all the staples, including a case of wine. Valpolicella, Malbec, Pinot Grigio, Chianti, Shiraz, Sangiovese. You know, the necessities.

After returning home and getting my fill of the crazy ass football games I decide that I need to make myself a nice dinner before the Sunday night game starts. I mean, I already started to fall for myself earlier in the day…now’s where I lay it on, right? A damn tasty chicken divan ladled over organic brown rice and a generous glass of Chianti sealed the deal. What a better way to woo a girl than with a nice glass of wine, a home-cooked meal and football? (Sigh, Ed Hochuli. Hochuli! Hochuli!) Actually I wasn’t really able to seal the deal with myself until the 3rd quarter of the Bears/Giants game when it was noticed that said bottle of Chianti was…um…empty. Using my smarts (and avoiding a scene) I poured myself a glass of the open Pinot Grigio used to make the chicken divan. Potential crisis averted, I was able to finish watching the game with myself, booze in hand.

LEGEND:
Items in green are the way to this girl’s heart.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. November 13, 2006 1:17 pm

    Mmmmmm… I’m salivating over here!

  2. November 13, 2006 1:25 pm

    Hee hee…I, too, am a lover of Ed Hochuli. Those arms? Yummy!

  3. November 13, 2006 1:28 pm

    Has green become the new orange?

    In other news, I simply must insist on a Fantasy Blogball update.

  4. November 13, 2006 1:39 pm

    [flexing] HOLDING! [grunt] Offense! [pointing emphatically] Number 69! Penalty is declined! [waving slowly, stopping to flex some more] Fourth down!

  5. November 13, 2006 2:45 pm

    You sealed the deal…. with yourself?!

    Every post this blog gets dirtier!!

  6. November 13, 2006 7:30 pm

    EJ – Would you still be salivating if you knew that the chicken divan I made for myself came from a Rachel Ray cookbook?

    BJ – Who doesn’t love the Hochuli? I was so excited to see him last night.

    Hammer – Green is for GO! And not sending myself mixed signals…

    Highway man – HA! But he seemed less diesel to me last night. I think it’s the new uniform.

    Luckster – No, as I stated in the beginning I held out. BUT I did lay the groundwork for a beautiful relationship…I am all but mine.

  7. November 13, 2006 9:02 pm

    Sorry to hear about the continued pain and upcoming physical therapy. I just got back on track after 1 year of PT, etc.

    Good luck

  8. November 14, 2006 8:09 am

    Do you think they changed the referee uniforms so the Ed Hochuli could put on more of a gun show during the games? I bet he put someone in a headlock over at the league office to make it happen.

  9. November 14, 2006 5:54 pm

    Gah! I’m so torn now! I think you might be okay as long as it doesn’t say “yummo” in the recipe…

Leave a Reply

